Double Chocolate Cupcakes

POSITIVITY IS…

like a pretty girl; sooner or later it’s bound to attract something. And one of ’em will be good.

like a pair of high heels; it makes you look good no matter how you’re feeling

like getting your nails done; the waiting sucks but it’s worth it

like holding hot coffee on a cold day; may not be the exact thing you need, but at least it makes you feel better

like eating cupcakes; it lifts your spirits no matter the occasion.

I’ve been in this job hunting circus for awhile now. It’s tough, and I’m really not a patient person. That’s usually why I prefer baking mini cupcakes instead of their grown up cousins; it takes far less time. It’s also why I prefer dresses over a pants-suit combo. It’s also why I hate wearing rompers; it’s far too fiddly when I need the loo.

My point is… I hate waiting, especially when I feel that I don’t know what I’m waiting for. And let’s face it; it’s like everytime I hit the ‘send’ button, my resume gets sent into a dark abyss, of which I don’t even know if I’ll hear anything in return. At the very least, baking ensured I get some form of gratification. My waist disagrees but I’m in no mood to argue.

So here I am, still hunting like a loon, but maybe I’ve grown tired of being impatient or perhaps it’s just sunk in that no matter how fretful I get, no employer over the internet is sharing my pain. But I’ve learnt that I can always make waiting a little more bearable by baking mini cupcakes, make chocolate frosting that doesn’t require 2 hours to set and eating cold cupcakes because they don’t dry out in the fridge.

If you’re waiting for something or anything, these will make it slightly less awful than the bleak situation you’re in; promise.

Double Chocolate Cupcakes
1 x recipe Double Chocolate Cupcakes
1 x recipe Sour Cream Chocolate Frosting

Double Chocolate Cake (adapted from Miette)

1  1/4 cup GF flour blend
1/4 cup GF oat flour
1 1/4 cup natural cocoa powder (I used Varlhona, but feel free to use your favourite)
1.5 tsp baking soda
1/2 tsp baking powder
pinch of salt
2 ounces 56% couverture chocolate, chopped
1 cup boiling water
1 cup buttermilk
1 tsp vanilla extract
2 large eggs
1/2 cup vegetable oil
1 3/4 cups caster sugar

1) Preheat oven to 170°C. Line 48 mini-muffin tins with paper liners. I had some batter left over so I made 3 regular sized cupcakes extra.

2) In a bowl, sift together the cocoa powder, flours, baking soda, baking powder and salt together. In another bowl, pour the hot water over the chocolate and mix until it’s homogenised.

3) In the bowl of a stand mixer, whisk the eggs until they are fluffy and triple in volume. Slowly add in the oil, whisking to blend. Add in the vanilla and buttermilk and mix well. Mix in the water + chocolate mixture. Add in the sugar and beat until combined.

4) In three additions, incorporate the flour mix until just combined. Divide evenly into the prepared tins and bake for 12-15 minutes or until a skewer inserted comes out clean. Allow to cool for 10 minutes before removing from tin to cool completely. FROST. CONSUME. FEEL BETTER.

3 Comments

Filed under Cakes, Chocolate, Cupcakes, Frostings, Recipes

3 responses to “Double Chocolate Cupcakes

  1. These would make anything better :) the look so delicous! I could dive in to that icing!!!

  2. Good luck with the job hunting Vicky! I hate waiting too and have zero patience for things! :P But these cupcakes? Delicious!

  3. I’ve been waing to see a surgeon since April and I finally got in this week. These might be great to celebrate that victory! I thought the waiting would go on forever too, good luck with the hunt!

Leave a Reply

