{100th Post} Melting Nutella Cake

I was thinking of doing a “100 things about me” entry for the 100th entry.

But you would probably be asleep before you’re done with number 20. So let’s just shrink it down to a “10 things about me” post. And if you’re feeling generous and gossipy, you should pull up a chair and join in. Tell me a thing or two about yourself. I hope someone out there reads this. It’ll be a pretty sad one person sharing party. Just sayin’

Okay, in no particular order, here are 10 random things about me.

1) I am petrified of birds. All kinds, even stuffed animals. Even the scary evil goose from Kung Fu Panda 2.

2) My favourite flavour of gelato is pistachio

3) In elementary school, I went through a whole spelling test spelling ‘Simon’ as ‘Simone’.

4) I really, really like milk chocolate.

5) I grew up as a Barbie type of girl. I still am.

6) I don’t like wearing skirts. Denim shorts are my weakness.

7) I find it weird when people I don’t know call me Vic and not by my full name.

8) When I start to get body concious, I remind myself to be thankful that I have all my body parts intact.

9) I can’t lie upside down for too long, or stare at the ceiling for that matter. I get a whirly headache.

10) My boyfriend can’t touch his toes.

Okay, so I cheated. The last one isn’t about me. I couldn’t think of anything else.

But the important thing to note here is that I come with cake. The sort that people like because it’s gooey, creamy and contains chocolate and Nutella. Plus it’s easy to whip up and presents itself as a fairly forgiving dessert even if you get it wrong and say…got distracted by this recipe and left it in the oven 2 minutes too long.

You can even bake this in the morning for breakfast and then warm it up at night while watching re-runs of CSI.

Melting Nutella Cake (adapted from Willie’s Chocolate Bible by Willie Harcourt-Cooze, a birthday gift from some of my loveliest friends)

20g almond meal
2 eggs
90g sugar
90g chocolate, 100% bitterness
75 butter, unsalted
1 tsp vanilla
pinch of salt
1/3 cup Nutella mixed with 1 tbsp Bailey’s (optional Bailey’s)

1) Preheat oven to 170°C. Grease 6 1/3cup capacity ramekins (or use a jumbo cupcake tin).

2) Place the chocolate and butter in a heatproof bowl and set over a pot of simmering water. Stir gently until you get a smooth, shiny mixture. Remove from heat and allow to cool slightly.

3) In the bowl of a stand mixer, whisk the eggs, vanilla and sugar until the ribbon stage.

4) Fold in the chocolate/butter mixture until almost homogenised. Add in the almond meal and fold until just combined. Spoon 2 tbsp of the mixture into each ramekin. Drop 1 heaping teaspoon of nutella into each cavity and cover with another tablespoon with chocolate mixture. Bake for 12-14 minutes. Remove from heat and serve immediately with chocolate sauce and icecream!

Chocolate Sauce

60g dark couverture chocolate chips, 55% at least
80g whipping cream

1)Place the chocolate in a large heat-proof bowl.

2) In a small saucepan, heat the cream over a gentle flame until small bubbles start to form. Remove from heat immediately and pour half over the chocolate. Stir gently before adding in the rest of the cream. Stir slowly until chocolate is completely melted and a smooth sauce forms. Use immediately or store in the fridge and warm up in the microwave when needed.

17 Comments

Filed under Cakes, Chocolate, Recipes

17 responses to “{100th Post} Melting Nutella Cake

  1. oh my goodness come live at my house forever!!!

  2. That chocolate cake looks divine! Congratulations on the 100th post! I’m nearly there. I want this now by the way…

  3. That’s a cake worthy of celebrating a 100th post! Congratulations!
    You wanted some sharing, so here you go:
    I hate small flying things; bees, wasps, moths, flies, basically anything that flies around and annoys me!
    I’m starting to prefer dark chocolate but wouldn’t say no if someone gave me milk chocolate.
    As a child I used to watch TV hanging upside down off the side of the sofa, it made everything look a bit strange and gave me a headache so I still don’t understand why my sisters and I did it so much!

  4. Happy 100th post!
    Random facts about me:
    My favourite colours are purple and grey
    I hate it when people chew gum
    I only plant blue/ purple flowers in my garden
    I want to eat that cake!

  5. That looks fabulous! And I loved reading the 10 (or 9 ;) ) things about you too!

  6. Rocker Chic

    This looks really good I can take a bite out of it right now.
    Congrats on you 100th post!!
    Random fact about me: I just tried pistachio this year :/

    http://www.iwouldsorockthis.blogspot.com

  7. Woahhhh.. looook soooooo goooddd!!! Gosh I wish I live with you… would be very very happy to be fattened by you :D

    Btw… Congrats with the lucky 100th post!!! waiting for more n more new post!!!!

  8. Happy 100th! May there be thousands more ;)…and a thousand more delicious cakes like this one!

  9. Feliciano Moody

    Congrats on the 100th post!!! Wish I was there to taste this one…

    I can touch my toes if I bend my knees :p

  10. Pingback: Melting Nutella Cake @Not Quite Nigella

  11. Tracey

    Happy 100th.
    1. My daughter is also terrified of birds.
    2. I hate it when anyone shortens my name.
    Miss a few.
    9. Love reading your blog.
    10. I can also touch my toes, if I bend my knees.

    • vicvickvicky

      Thanks for the note and all the blog love. :) I think touching your toes is overrated. I can reach high enough to get the cookie jar from the top shelf.

  12. Happy 100th post, Victoria. I’m sorry to have read it so late.
    A few random things:
    1) My angelheart has a weakness for nutella, which is the main reason why I checked out your recipe (okay, I cheated too and used him to fill out one of my facts!);
    2) Orange in my favourite colour.
    3) Unlike you, I love birds – they are my favourite type of animal (migratory patters, colours, teaching their young, how they have evolved…);
    4) Even though I am studying law part-time and never have time to read all my cases, I have a mixture of legal non-fiction and cookery texts on my nightstand;
    5) Quinces make me smile more than any other food.
    Thanks for sharing, Victoria!

Leave a Reply

