Cereal Milk and Cookies

Day 1 of being 23 and it’s going well. I woke up, had leftover birthday cake for breakfast, continued on the job hunt, went to the grocery store, baked. I think it’s my newly painted and redecorated room that giving me this productivity surge. Now if it would only motivate me to get dressed and go get my hair cut. The only thing stopping me from canceling is the fact that I’ve already canceled once. And I have dry hay for hair.

I blame the sun in Bali for this though it’s more plausible that my flat iron’s the real culprit. But everyone in Bali has frizzy hair and they don’t care. They’re there for the sun, the waves and a sense of adventure. I went hoping to engage in full on relaxation but instead my itinerary was jammed with outdoor activity. Jet skiing, white water rafting, swimming… yeah, you got that right. Me in the outdoors. A friend of mine even asked me quite tactfully…”are you going through a quarter life crisis?”

No idea, but whatever New York has done, the effects are still here. I suddenly feel like I don’t want to miss out. Too many things to do, way too little time. Since I’m missing the cereal and marshmallow cookies from Momofuku and I missed out on their famous cereal milk, I decided I’m going get down to making it at home.

….fine, I’ll go for my haircut too.

Momofuku Cereal Milk, dairy-free (adapted from here. Great step-by-step photos too!)

7 cups rice milk
6 cups cornflakes (I used Kelloggs)
1/4 cup brown sugar

1) Get a large bowl and fill with the milk. Add in the cornflakes and let it sit in the fridge for 20 minutes.

2) Strain the milk, discarding all the solids.

3) Take 1/2 cup of the milk and heat it with the sugar until it completely dissolves. Mix it back into the cold milk and refrigerate until cold again.

*The original recipe calls for a pinch of salt but Kelloggs cornflakes are already ‘seasoned’ so I skipped that step. The original recipe also calls for roasting the cornflakes but Kelloggs makes theirs very toasted so I skipped this too!

Momofuku Cereal and Marshmallow Cookies (adapted from here. Delicious photos!)

2 sticks unsalted butter, room temperature
¾ cup packed dark brown sugar
1/3 cup granulated sugar
2 eggs
2 tsp vanilla extract
1 ½ cups all-purpose GF flour blend
¼ cup soghum flour (or buckwheat)
½ tsp baking soda
½ tsp baking powder
1 tsp salt
3/4 cup oatmeal
1 1/4 cup lightly crushed cornflakes (= about 1 1/2 cup cornflakes before crushing)
2/3 cup mini chocolate chips
about 3/4 cup mini marshmallows

1) Preheat oven to 175°C. Line two baking trays with parchment.

2) In a bowl of a stand mixer fitted with a paddle attachment, cream the butter, brown sugar and granulated sugar together until light in colour.

3) In a separate bowl, mix the flours and oatmeal together.

4) Add the eggs into the creamed butter mixture, one at a time, beating well after each addition. Add in the flour and oat mixture. Beat until combined.

5) Add in the chocolate and marshmallows. Mix to combine. Add in the cornflakes last, folding it in by hand. Drop by tablespoonfuls onto the prepared tray. Flatten slightly and bake for 13-15 minutes or until golden brown and cookies don’t feel soft when you poke it. Remove from oven and allow to cool completely before removing onto a wire rack.

 

5 Comments

Filed under Chocolate, Cookies, Recipes

5 responses to “Cereal Milk and Cookies

  1. I can see the appeal, but maybe not for me! The cookies now- they’re another story!

  2. love the polkadot plate, and LOVE home baked cookies :)

  3. I know I’d absolutely adore this as an afternoon snack. In fact my usual palatable cup of tea is looking a bit sad in comparison! ;)

  4. kat

    I am obsess with Momofuku now! Wow, what a genius! Is the Cereal Milk very sweet?

Leave a Reply

