Carrot Cupcakes with Limoncello Cream Cheese Frosting

Sorry, I’ve been a bad friend haven’t I. Abandoning you without any cake for such a long while. Things have been happening; I finally got my act together and cleared out the pig-sty of a room I live in and re-painted it a fresh white. I also managed to get myself an eye infection. It’s ugly; I forgot the name of the problem. It’s just…a big swollen eye, blocking half my vision. And I tear involuntarily. It’s bad. I don’t even bother dressing up – I want to blend in with the crowd so no one will notice me… I am invisible.

I did make it out of the house for Harry Potter though! Have you seen it? You should even if you’re not a huge fan (which I probably won’t be able to fathom why). It’s such a milestone!  Make sure you have popcorn! If you’re bringing your own, try this recipe out!

I had some trouble dealing with the fact that this is the last Harry Potter movie and was highly appreciative to have some some Carrot Cupcakes. But I was even happier to have them around after watching an episode of DC Cupcakes and then really, really having issues dealing with not being in the States anymore. I obviously have a hard time letting go of… things. I am a hoarder which I have also discovered through the amount of things I have collected in my room whilst clearing it out. Is this a sign that I’m turning into one of those women? I’m preparing for life with a mountain stack high of Tupperware.

Carrot Cupcakes (adapted from Miette Bakery Cookbook, which is gorgeous and scalloped-edged)

1 cup GF Flour blend (I would add 2 tbsp more if you’re in a humid country)
1.5 tsp baking powder
1 tsp baking soda
2 tsp ground cinnamon
2 large eggs
3/4 cup caster sugar
3/4 cup oil
1 cup peeled and finely grated carrots
1/2 cup raisins

1) Preheat oven to 180°C. Line 9 cupcake holes with paper liners.

2) Mix the flour, baking soda, baking powder, salt and ground cinnamon together in a bowl.

3) In a stand mixer, whisk the eggs and sugar together until lighter in colour. Add in the oil and whisk until emulsified.

4)  Add in the flour mix, and mix until almost completely combined. Add in the carrots and raisins. Mix well and divide evenly into prepared tins.

5) Bake for 20-23 minutes or until a skewer inserted comes out clean. Let cool completely, remove from baking tin and frost.

Limoncello Cream Cheese Frosting

250g cream cheese, softened
100g butter, softened
3-4 cups icing sugar, sifted
2 tbsp limoncello liquor
1 tsp lemon zest
2 tsp fresh lemon juice

1) Beat the cream cheese, butter, 3 cups of icing sugar, limoncello, lemon zest and juice together. If icing if not thick enough, add in more icing sugar and beat until you reach your desired consistency.

5 Comments

Filed under Breakfast, Cupcakes, Frostings, Recipes

5 responses to “Carrot Cupcakes with Limoncello Cream Cheese Frosting

  1. i absolutely ADORE all of your cupcakes! they are so damn cute!

  2. These are gorgeous, Vicki! Of course, you had me at the title. BTW, you really should submit and link this recipe for this month’s Go Ahead Honey event over at The Whole Gang. The theme is Harry Potter based, It All Ends Here–recipes to end a meal. Here’s the link w/details: http://www.thewholegang.org/2011/06/go-ahead-honey-its-gluten-free-is-here-july/ Hope you’ll join us!

    Shirley

  3. Love the little sprinkles!! I tend to hoard sprinkles, actually. I have way too many and hardly ever use them. I should bake some carrot cupcakes as an excuse!

  4. Carrot cake and limoncello frosting, a winning combination!

  5. I would have to steal some of my husbands limoncello when he wasn’t looking for these! Yumm…
    Hope your eye gets better soon!

Leave a Reply

