Farewell NYC

I embarked on my New York adventure with no real plan. I thought I felt like doing it, so I did. And I’m glad I didn’t regret a single minute of my decision. Except maybe when the credit card bill arrives, but that’s a problem for reality. Who needs reality when I have shiny new shoes and baking trays.

But I’ve been talking about me, New York and other people for 2 months and I think my brain is yorked out so in the spirit of thingsd, let’s make a list of my highlights!

Biggest OMG! Moment:
Seeing Backstreet Boys and New Kids on the Block perform

Favourite Gluten-free Cupcake:
Tully’s

Favourite Meal:
It’s a toss up between Diner in Williamsburg and brunch at The Essex

Favourite non-GF Dessert:
Peanut butter cheesecake from Cheesecake Factory (because it was raving madly awesome) and LuLu’s snowball

Favourite Store:
Madewell

Best Purchase:
My $20 rainboots when my shoes broke during a storm or my GHD hair straightener

Most Inspiring Food:
Arepas & grilled corn with cotija cheese

Favourite Tourist Site:
American Museum of Natural History & Alexander Wang exhibit at The Met

Most Exciting Meal:
Serendipity; the sheer size and madness of the desserts

Favourite Grocery Store:
Trader Joe’s

Best Night Out:
Either the body-to-body dancing at Taj II or the non-stop partying at Hiro

Best Thing about being a Tourist:
Cute stranger boys making sure you’re at the right subway stop so you don’t get lost

Best Breakfast:
HOT CHOCOLATE at Starbucks on a cold, wet day

NYC should seriously…
Stop meddling with their subway lines during weekends because it’s confusing!

NYC should never…
change, I like you the way you are!

Thing I’ll miss most…
Not working…and Union Square, East Village, the AMAZING friends I’ve made and the plethora of vintage treasures

Worst Meal:
Probably the shitty food at Coney Island and the disappointing saltwater taffy

I can’t wait to tell everyone back home about…
AREPAS! These Venezuelan street food makes me so happy and is naturally GF! And Amy’s Bread’s amazing yellow cake.

Favourite Vegan Food:
Vanilla milkshake at Blossom

The Highest High:
Meeting so so so many friends, Melinda, Andy, Mike, Jenny, Jonathan, Ashley, Vivian, Sandeep, Tiffani, and so many other amazing folks, thanks for making me not want to go home. :)

Photos!

5 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

5 responses to “Farewell NYC

  1. What a fun post! Loved reading it and seeing photos. Is that you in the last photo? You are seriously adorable! So glad you had a wonderful trip, Vicky!

    Hugs,
    Shirley

  2. Glad you had fun, I would HAVE to eat at the Cheesecake Factory just because of Penny and the Guys from the Big Bang Theory!

  3. glad u had a blast!! :D gr8 to hear from u too xoxo

  4. Welcome back to Singers!
    Did you go to NYC solo or with friends? Either way, looks and sounds like you had a fabulous time!

  5. Sounds like you had a fabulous trip! Yay!

Leave a Reply

