Vegan Chocolate Fudge Cookies

Hong Kong makes my legs hurt. Hong Kong causes a temporary inability to feel tired and for that matter, angry, upset, lonely and aimless. Hong Kong is bustling with so many people that it’s just impossible to feel that way. And the shopping, oh how it makes my mind whirl filled with giddy excitement. I didn’t buy much (read: tiny sizes, even for shoes!) but the sheer assortment to look at is filling enough.

And then we come to the food. I can only sum it up in so many ways…let’s just say you will never ever find yourself starved in HK.

Which also leads me to an important announcement; I’m cutting prawns, chicken, eggs and refined sugar from my diet (or as much as I can manage it). My eczema has gone mad and my skin’s as dry as the Sahara Desert.YUCK. So based on a couple of sources, chicken, eggs, prawns and sugar has the tendency to wreck all sorts of havoc on a person’s skin. So, let’s try this for a month and hopefully it’ll clear some. Expect a range of vegan recipes coming your way in the next few weeks but don’t be surprised if you see a butter attack midway through.

Luckily vegan chocolate fudge cookies don’t contain any of the barred substances so I can dunk them quite freely in ice cold almond milk. And this is bliss.

Vegan Chocolate Fudge Cookies (from The Allergen-Free Baker’s Handbook by Cybele Pascal)

1 1/4 cup GF flour blend
1/2 cup cocoa powder (I used Valrhona)
1/2 tsp baking soda
1 tsp cream of tartar
1/2 tsp xantham gum
2/3 cup refined sugar
2 tsp vanilla extract
1/3 cup rice milk
1/3 cup canola oil
3/4 cup dark chocolate chips

1) Preheat oven to 170°C. Line two cookie sheets with parchment. Mix the flour, cocoa, baking soda, cream of tartar and xantham gum together.

2) In the bowl of a stand mixer, fitted with a paddle attachment, mix the oil and milk on high for 30 seconds. Add in the sugar and vanilla and mix well. Add in the flour and blend. Pour in the chocolate chips, mix well. It will look as if the chips aren’t ‘sticking’ to the dough, just press them into the cookies later on.

3) Drop by heaping teaspoonfuls onto the baking tray and press down with your palms. Bake for 15 minutes. Do not overbake or it’ll be dry and not fudgey anymore.

6 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

6 responses to “Vegan Chocolate Fudge Cookies

  1. oh these look fantastic! and goodluck with the new diet! have you ever thought about raw diet? a gf of mine has a vitamix and mixes up all sorts of yummy drinks and shakes all raw nothing processed

  2. Good luck Vicky! I’m sure you will feel better from it. I wish I could cut out some things from my diet but I’m just not so disciplined. These cookies look wonderful!

  3. These look so yummy! Good luck getting rid of your excema, try an oatmeal bath, I find it really helps.

  4. Ooh delicious, and FODMAP friendly too :D

    Good that you have seemed to identify some baddies for your skin, pity it’s some tasty things :( Still, ’twill be worth it if you can isolate these as the culprits!

  5. Pingback: Vegan Coconut Cupcakes | Gluten Free: Sweets At Vicky's

  6. I find all forms of shellfish aggravate any active eczema/dermatitis I have going at the time, but doesn’t make me break out as such. It’s an ongoing struggle though – eczema during early childhood years, grew out of it and was okay during my teens, then came back again just as I was stepping into adulthood!

Leave a Reply

