Sour Cherry Cupcakes

In order to stop myself from eating a third cupcake, I am resorting to munching an apple along with a low fat hot chocolate drink. Pathetic I know.

You see, up until now, I am pretty sure I have never searched, researched and failed at a recipe so many times like I have at baking a gluten free vanilla cupcake. How everyone so gracefully succeeds at this basic cupcake is beyond me. Instead this is how the scene is. Quivering, worried, quite certain I’m about to fail…again.

I remember once, I was so desperate for a vanilla cupcake for my uncle’s 50th and all I had was batch after batch sadly finding home in the rubbish bin. Not ideal.And I might have some close to succeeding, but it felt more like me ‘settling’ rather than being overjoyed with finding the right one. So like finding the perfect boy, this was a mission not to be taken lightly. After yet another really crap attempt yesterday with Hummingbird Bakery’s vanilla cupcake recipe (which I should’ve guessed would’ve turned out wrong when it started to…split!), I woke up this morning armed with a mission. Magnolia Bakery vs Primrose Bakery. Two bakeries, one cupcake, one highly frantic baker.

Great.

It was a stupid test I thought, since I’ve actually baked from these two books and wasn’t successful thus far. But everyone’s favourite cupcake recipe couldn’t fail me…right? And I’ve been to Primrose…it was good…HOW BAD COULD IT BE?! (tension building, nerves going mad, and I was kinda hungry)

TURNED OUT SUPER ACTUALLY! :) Guess who won?

PRIMROSE!!!

Fluffy, super fluffy, none of that gummy business, and it grew up tall, rounded, really handsome and tanned. Perfect. (the cupcake, not the man)


Vanilla Cupcakes (adapted from Primrose Bakery)

110g unsalted butter, at room temperature
180g caster sugar
2 large eggs, room temperature
2 cups minus 2 tbsp GF flour blend
1.5 tsp baking powder
120ml whole milk, room temperature
1 tsp vanilla extract

1) Preheat oven to 170°C. Line a 12-hole muffin tin with cupcake liners.

2) In the bowl of a stand mixer fitted with a paddle attachment, cream the butter and sugar together. Add in the eggs one at a time, beating well after each addition.

3) In another bowl, mix the flour and baking powder together. Add the flour into the egg mixture alternating with the milk and vanilla. Beat until mixed through and pour into the prepared tins.

4) Bake for 25 minutes or until a skewer inserted comes out clean. Let cool in tin for 10 minutes before removing to a wire rack to cool completely.

Sour Cherry Filling

1.5 cups frozen cherries, thawed
4 tbsp granulated sugar
2 heaping tsp cornstarch
3 tbsp water

1) In a medium saucepan, add the cherries and the sugar and simmer for 3-4 minutes.

2) Mix the cornstarch and the water into a slurry and slowly add it into the cherry mixture, swirling as you go. It will thicken up almost immediately into a jammy consistency. Remove from heat and allow to cool to room temperature.

Vanilla Buttercream

110g unsalted butter, at room temperature
2-4 tbsp milk, room temperature
1 tsp vanilla extract
400-500g icing sugar, sifted

1) In the bowl of a stand mixer, beat the butter and 400g of the icing sugar on low until mixed through.

2) Add in 2 tbsp of milk and the vanilla. Mix to combine. If frosting is too liquid, add in the remaining icing sugar. If it’s too stiff, add in the remaining milk, 1 tbsp at a time.

3) Use immediately or keep in an airtight container in the fridge. To use, bring to room temperature.

To Assemble

1) Cut out a ‘cone’ shape from each of the cupcakes. Fill the hole with 3 cherries. Cover the ‘lid’ back on.

2) Pipe a swirl of buttercream over the cupcake and allow to set slightly before topping each cupcake with 1-2 cherries.

14 Comments

Filed under Cupcakes, Frostings, Fruit, Recipes

14 responses to “Sour Cherry Cupcakes

  1. What a beautiful blog you have. The recipes look great and the photos are superb!!

  2. Oooh so pretty looking, I looove cherries! I’m so glad you persisted and beat that darn cupcake, it shows strength of character and appetite! Great job.

  3. Those look great. My wife’s mom had a sour tree growing up, and they made some great desserts. Wish I had one in our yard.

  4. These cupcakes look so good. I was wondering if it is possible to actually put chopped sour cherries directly in the batter – to distribute it evenly in the cupcake, and so that I can have more?

  5. they look fantastic! love it!

  6. They look great and thanks for testing it out so many times for everyone! I’m sure they really appreciate it! :D

  7. i’m loving your blog.
    i find myself snacking on apples/carrots/other healthy things after i’ve stuffed my face with too many sweets, too, so you aren’t pathetic!!
    these look YUMMY!!

  8. Pingback: Cake Truffles | Gluten Free: Sweets At Vicky's

  9. Lovely! They look soo good!!!

  10. Pingback: Honeycomb and Chocolate Cupcakes | Gluten Free: Sweets At Vicky's

  11. Pingback: Baked Alaska | Gluten Free: Sweets At Vicky's

Leave a Reply

