Buckwheat Banana Scones

Some days I feel like breaking the rules. Like going for a morning walk, or calling Fred instead of him calling me or not baking banana bread when I have spotty ones lying around.

Truth is, I usually feel boring. I wake up, brush my teeth, can’t decide what to wear (or can’t remember what I decided on the night before), find something decent to throw on, try to make my hair look normal and then think about what I can look forward to next. It usually involves food, whether it’s a lush dinner I’m imagining or a thing I’m going to bake. But it never ends up the way I plan it to because I always go back to chocolate.

Today I had no urge for chocolate. I wanted to eat it (which I did!) but I didn’t want my hair to smell like it. So the polka-dotted bananas on the counter top found a new fate apart from banana bread; banana scones! They’re all baked now, slightly fluffy, nutty from the buckwheat flour and creamy and sweet from the chunks of slightly overripe bananas. And the smell is much more pleasant than chocolate, it’s more like velvety butter.

The scones border slightly on the dry side so I’d recommend adding another 2-3 tablespoons of milk, especially if you live in a drier climate. :) Or maybe I might’ve have over baked mine a little.

I want to glaze them in a salted caramel glaze. Is that too much?


Buckwheat Banana Scones (by Sweets by Vicky)

2 1/2 cups GF flour blend
1/4 cup buckwheat flour
1 1/2 tsp baking powder
1/2 tsp baking soda
1/3 cup caster sugar
1 stick butter, chopped into 1 inch chunks and placed in the freezer for 5-10 minutes to firm up
1/3 cup buttermilk
1/2 cup sour cream
1 egg
2 medium bananas, quartered lengthwise and chopped into 1/2inch chunks
1 egg yolk, for egg wash
2 tbsp raw sugar, for sprinkling

1) Preheat oven to 175°C. Line a baking tray with parchment paper.

2) In a bowl of a stand mixer, blend the flours, sugar, baking soda and baking powder together. Add in the chilled butter and beat on low until it resembled breadcrumbs; some larger pieces may remain, don’t worry.

3) In another bowl, mix the milk, sour cream and egg together. Slowly pour into the ‘breadcrumbs’ and mix until it comes together. Add in the banana chunks and beat for 5-10 seconds, careful not to mash the fruit. Turn out onto the baking sheet.

4) With well floured hands, smoothen and pat the dough out into a disc about 4-6cm thick, depending on how you like them.

5) Bake for 30-40 minutes (thinner scones) and 40-50 minutes (thicker scones). Once done, remove from oven and cut into individual wedges. Enjoy!

4 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

4 responses to “Buckwheat Banana Scones

  1. There is no such thing as too much salted caramel!

  2. What a great idea for using up banana, and salted caramel glaze can only be a plus.
    Mimi

  3. They’re beautiful! I’ve got some bananas on my table that aren’t quite brown yet, but in a couple days…

  4. Excellent bore-antidote :) Handy recipe right now too, as bananas are costing us a bomb, and going from green to ridiculously overripe in a matter of seconds.

Leave a Reply

