Peanut Butter, Jelly and Chocolate Cupcakes

Easter’s coming, I think I should have a party. Then I have every reason to have rabbits, eggs and confetti all on one table; and no one can say anything.

And I’d bake, make a mess and have frosting on my elbows. And everyone knows you can’t lick your elbows no matter how much you twist yourself. Unless you have funny bones, then I suppose the rule doesn’t apple to you.

I think I’ll have an elbow licking competition. We’d all lose and no one could gloat about it. To comfort the sore prides that will be so badly wounded I’d feed my guests peanut butter and jelly cupcakes with chocolate drizzled over for good measure. The only problem is, my sister comes home this evening and jetlag is bound to kick in at around 4am. Don’t say I told you this but guess who likes a sweet snack at an ungodly hour?

I remember the first time she came home from boarding school. I heard a sound or two and roused from my deep slumber only to find her walking towards the door and closing it behind her. Odd. So I followed and found her rummaging through the fridge for something. So we sat at the table with ice cream, cookies, crackers and gummies and ate until she felt slightly sleepy. Giggled all the way upstairs at the crazy stunt we just pulled and fell back to sleep. And it’s been a tradition since then. My mom and my older sister know, but they don’t join in. Just us mad people here.

Peanut Butter, Jelly and Chocolate Cupcakes (makes 12)

Vanilla Cupcake (based on a traditional hot milk cake recipe)

2 eggs
3/4 cup sugar
1 cup and 2 tbsp GF flour blend
1  1/8 tsp baking powder
1/2 cup and 2 tbsp milk
70g butter
1 tsp vanilla

1) Preheat oven to 170°C. Line 12 muffin holes with paper liners.

2) In a stand mixer, whisk the eggs and sugar until thick, fluffy and triple in volume.

3) Mix the flour and baking powder in a separate bowl.

4) In a medium saucepan, heat the milk and butter together until butter melts and milk starts to bubble slightly. Remove from heat. DO NOT ALLOW TO COOL.

5) Add the flour into the fluffy eggs and whisk until completely combined. Slow pour in the milk mixture with all the time with the whisk still on, but speed down to low.

6) Pour into the prepared tin and bake for 20-25 minutes or until a skewer inserted comes out clean. The cupcakes will shrink and sink slightly as they cool. Frost!

Peanut Butter Frosting

1/2 cup peanut butter (I used chunky)
1 cup icing sugar, sifted
40g butter, softened
2 tbsp heavy cream

1) In a bowl of a stand mixer, mix the peanut butter and butter together until smooth. Add in 3/4 cup of icing sugar and mix to combine. Blend in the heavy cream and beat on high until fluffy. If mixture if too soft, add in the remaining icing sugar. Use immediately or refrigerate.

To Assemble

1/3 cup jam (I used a sour cherry jam)
1/3 cup chocolate chips, melted and cooled slightly

1) Spread each cupcakes  with about 2 tbsp of frosting, be sure to fill in the sunken cavity. Top each cupcake with 1/2 tsp of jam and drizzle the melted chocolate over. Easy peasy lemon squeasy!

9 Comments

Filed under Chocolate, Frostings, Nuts, Recipes

9 responses to “Peanut Butter, Jelly and Chocolate Cupcakes

  1. Looks like a yummy but brilliant idea using peanut butter and jelly rather than sandwiches alone.

  2. meimei

    Let’s do it again tonight xxxxxxxxx

  3. This looks wonderful! Definitely very hard to resist! I had to laugh at the idea of an elbow licking contest! That’s hilarious! :)

  4. This is a great combination – peanut butter, jelly, and chocolate. I mean how can you go wrong. Awesome recipe.

  5. I don’t know if I should make these, I’m worried that if I do I will ALWAYS be making them. I bet I could lick my elbow if some of that frosting was stuck on it!

  6. I can definitely lick my elbows. I think. I need to find some frosting and try it out.

  7. It’s impossible not to try and lick your elbows if you get into a conversation with someone about how it’s impossible, even if you have tried before and know it’s impossible.

    It’s even more impossible if you’re doubled over giggling at other people trying to do it.

    Triply more impossible if you’re also ogling delicious peanut butter, jelly and chocolate cupcakes.

  8. Everything I like rolled into one delicious cupcake.
    Mimi

  9. Awesome awesome awesome cupcake recipe! I’ve been dreaming of this combo for ages but never had the courage to try it. I’ll definitely give this a go now! :)

Leave a Reply

