Homemade Oreos

There are some things that I get obsessed with…and never stop being obsessed until I’ve had so much of it, I feel my knees buckle and my heart ceases to feel the flutter anymore…that is until I get reminded of how great it is and the whole mad cycle starts again.

I first felt this way with Barbie. The clothes, the shoes, the house, the car…the ugly ken doll…and when I turned 14 I thought “meh, time to get over it…” But every year on Halloween after that, I wanted to dress up as Barbie. And I finally did, blonde wig and all. Wasn’t a good look.

Another time I felt it was with jeans. I never grew up wearing the stuff so when skinny jeans was all the rage and every IT girl had their butts squeezed into one, I was all about them too. Pair after pair after pair. Turns out, not only did the make me look short, they also deprived me of half the breathing I should’ve been doing whilst in them.

And lately, my obsession has been deep fried Oreos. It started when I saw an episode of America’s Next Top Model, and one of the models made the confection for everyone in the house. And then I went onto just about every site and started ogling at their Oreos. And then Flour arrived; the amazing book that Joanna Chang has penned. And in there lay the most perfect recipe for Oreos. So I made them, dunked them and boasted about them. I think I’ll be making another batch sooner than you can say deep fried Oreos and Oreo thickshake.

Gluten-free Oreos (adapted from Flour by Joanna Chang)

1 cup (2 sticks) unsalted butter, melted and semi cooled
3/4 cup sugar
1 tsp vanilla extract
1 cup (200g) semisweet chocolate, melted and slightly cooled
1 egg
1 1/2 cups GF Flour blend + 2 tbsp
3/4 cup dutch processed cocoa powder (to achieve that black look)
pinch of salt
1/2 tsp baking soda

1) In a medium bowl, whisk the butter, sugar until well combined. Whisk in the vanilla and chocolate. Add in the egg and mix well.

2) In another bowl, stir the flour, cocoa powder (sifted), salt and baking soda. Using a spatula, stir in the chocolate mixture. Joanna says the dough will seem floury- mine seemed a little wet so I added in 2 tbsp of flour. It should have the consistency of playdoh. Let dough sit at room temperature to firm up for an hour. (After this, I shaped them into 1-inch balls, flattened them and baked them. If not, follow the next step)

3) Transfer dopugh to a 15-inch square of parchment. Using your hands, shape dough into a rough log about 10 inches long and 2.5inches wide. Place the log at the end of the sheet of paper and roll it up around the log. With the log fully encased in the paper, smooth is out while keeping it at 2.5 inches wide. Refrigerate for 2 hours or until firm. Log may settle after awhile so re-roll it every 15 minutes or so to maintain it’s rounded shape.

4) Position rack in the middle of the oven. Heat oven to 175°C.

5) Cut log into 0.25inch thick slices and place them about 1 inch apart from each other. Bake for 20-25 minutes (start checking at 17 minutes). They should feel firm to the touch. Remove from oven and allow to cool on the baking sheet until warm. Remove onto wire rack to cool completely. Fill one half with about 1 tablespoon of filling before sandwiching.

Filling

1/2 cup (1 stick) unsalted butter, room temperature
1 2/3 cup icing sugar, sifted
1 tsp vanilla extract
1 tbsp milk

1) In the bowl of a mixer fitted with a paddle attachment, beat all the ingredients together until you get a smooth buttercream.

5 Comments

Filed under Books, Chocolate, Cookies, Recipes

5 responses to “Homemade Oreos

  1. Very cute post, Vicky! I’m not sure I could do the deep-fried version, but I know I’d love one of these–yum. ;-) You did a gorgeous job on them.

    Hugs,
    Shirley

  2. Yum! They look delicious.
    Mimi

  3. Deep fried? The guys at work deep fry pies, but I don’t know if they would try deep fried oreos, but I want to try your fantastic version!

  4. You’ve achieved the perfect little cracking on the tops of these! Beautiful. Perhaps so beautiful they should be eaten as is and not fried? Perhaps not ;)

    I am sure I would also look terrible dressed as Barbie, but I now have a strong urge to try it out. I know for sure though that skinny jeans don’t work for me!!

  5. Fried Oreos?!? Sounds sinfully amazing… but your homemade oreos sound too good to put in the fryer!

Leave a Reply

