Swirly Cake

5 things I’d like to do in 2011

1) I’ve decided that I want to visit Auckland. It started with a travel story I was working on for work and now I’m totally psyching myself to go.

2) Learn to take better photos for the blog

3) See Rachel Allen when she comes to Singapore for the World Gourmet Summit!!!

4) Finally stop cutting my hair when I have every intention of growing it out

5) Get the milia under my eyes lasered off

That is all folks. I know it’s a little late in the year to be listings the things I’d like done in 2011 but better late than never. I would also like to say that it is an awesome thing my little sister is coming home soon for Easter break. I see truckloads of laughter and food involved. Also, have I mentioned that I feel utterly glad to have amazing people surrounding me; especially those who indulge me when I feel the need to have dessert for lunch and cereal for dinner. It doesn’t get any better than that.

I think we should have a party. I feel like wearing a dress and sharing cake. And maybe you’d like to come join me? We’ll have a great time, being mad, wearing hats and picking at swirly cake.Actually, the taste of this cake reminds me so much of being a kid that I might want to show up in my pigtails instead. The crumb of the cake is slightly dense and is best consumed on the day of baking. But if you, like me, can’t stomach a whole cake in a mere 8 hours, try reheating it gently in the microwave to moisten it right up.

Swirly Cake (adapted from All-occasion Downy Yellow Butter Cake from The Cake Bible)

6 large egg yolks
1 cup milk
2 tsp vanilla extract
3 cups GF flour blend
1 cup sugar
1 tbsp + 1 tsp baking powder
pinch of salt
12 tbsp butter, softened
3 tbsp chocolate chips, melted

1) Preheat oven to 180°C. Grease and line a 9-inch round baking tin with parchment paper.

2) In the bowl of a stand mixer, add the flour, baking powder, sugar and salt together.

3) In another bowl, whisk the egg yolks, 1/4 cup milk and vanilla.

4) Add the butter to the flour and beat with a paddle attachment on low until it resembles breadcrumbs. Slowly add in the egg yolk mixture and beat on medium until fully incorporated. Add in the milk and beat to combine.

5) Remove half of the batter and mix with the melted chocolate until smooth. Alternate pouring the yellow batter and chocolate batter into the baking tin. Use a toothpick or knife to create swirly patterns. Bake for 30-45 minutes or until a skewer inserted comes out clean (I didn’t really check the timing of mine).

4 Comments

Filed under Breakfast, Cakes, Chocolate, Inspired, Recipes

4 responses to “Swirly Cake

  1. Cake looks delicious–and I’m always up for a party! I’ll bring chocolate truffles :)

  2. I love the swirly effect, so pretty!

  3. We should definitely have a party! I bought a new dress almost two months ago now and haven’t had a reason to wear it!

    I also approve of your goals. Go well!

  4. there is something about swirls in cakes that makes me so happy

Leave a Reply

