Pistachio Bundt

Dear mister rain, please understand that there is rarely a morning I would like to dive headfirst into a swimming pool so it would be greatly appreciated if you rained on someone else’s parade (just make sure they have an umbrella!)

Why the sudden urge to go wade in a pool and work off some extra calories? Two words… steak tartare. And maybe another three. Fried goat’s cheese. Is there anything more amazing than crispy goats cheese with a molten, viscous centre. It might actually be better than chocolate fondants. Ivan, what do you think? And well, after experiencing steak tartare, I almost feel like I’ve upped my ante and I’m suddenly all sorts of adventurous and cool. Like I’m totally down with this.

So my new found cool and I decided to bake with pistachio jell-o. A pistachio bundt.

And it’s really green.

I first laid my hungry eyes on it when I saw the pistachio cake on Pioneer Woman. It sounded easy, box mix, jell-o, club soda… yeah but how would I know if a gluten free box mix worked the same as a regular one? So scrap that idea. But I had already bought the pistachio pudding (which I suppose probably has traces of wheat…so be careful!) Anyway, google google google later, I found a recipe here!

Not sure what to expect really, but the batter was the consistency of frosting, I barely had enough sour cream so I made do with buttermilk…no ground pistachios either so almonds would just have to do. Turns out, baking isn’t as mean as people make it sound; it’s actually quite forgiving!

So break out the bundt and make this, eat it, and feel like you’re part of Dr Seuss’ Green Eggs and Ham.

Pistachio Bundt

6 egg yolks

2/3 cup sour cream

1 tsp vanilla extract

1 2/3 cup GF flour blend

1/3 cup ground almond meal

3/4 cup caster sugar

1 package Instant Pistachio Jell-O

1/2 tsp baking powder

1/2 tsp baking soda

pinch of salt

1 1/2 sticks of butter (3/4 cup), chopped into cubes

1 tsp almond extract

1) Preheat oven to 180. Grease a bundt tin very well.

2) In the bowl of a stand mixer, whisk the egg yolks and sugar together until fluffy. Add in the butter and whisk until there are no chunks left. It will look COMPLETELY gross and curdled. Keep trooping on. Add in the sour cream and blend.

3) Quickly add in the flour, baking powder, baking soda, vanilla, almond extract and packet of pistachio pudding crystals. Whisk on high until it’s fluffy. It’ll look like frosting.

4) Pour into prepared tin and bake for 40-50 minutes or until a skewer inserted comes out clean.

5) Let cool on a wire rack for 10 minutes before inverting.

4 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

4 responses to “Pistachio Bundt

  1. I don’t think I could ever find Pistaschio jello over here!

  2. There’s something fun about green baked goods. Perhaps it is because they often hide either pistachio or pandan goodness, and that’s quite alright by me :)

  3. I love the color, it looks delicious.
    Mimi

  4. What a fun idea! Perfect for St. Patrick’s Day.

Leave a Reply

