Goma Cupcakes with Matcha Buttercream

I think I enjoy inflicting pain on myself. It’s the only reason I could come up with to explain why I spend my lunch hour at my desk, clicking on cupcakes, tortes and panna cottas. Everytime you see me so engrossed, staring at the desktop, it’s probably because I’m ogling at sweets. Sick right?

I’ve yet to learn that no matter how hard I squint, the cake ain’t coming alive, it’s just causing a state of panic throughout my body.

But thanks to this sort of unbecoming obsessive behaviour, I’ve found a couple of new blogs that I’d like to start stalking; The Pleasure Monger and 6 Bittersweets. Where have they been all my life?! If you haven’t checked them out, you ought to. And if you’ve been a fan, then shame on you for not sharing!

In fact, since we’re in the mood for sharing, can I share a little more?

Waiting for the visa sucks. Someone tell me they understand how I feel. I’m trying to stay distracted by organizing a getaway with some friends but the uncertainty makes me more afraid to commit to plans than chocolate is afraid of water. I’m not commitment-phobe but boy is this visa making me all sorts of crazy; living everyday one day at a time. Is this how living in the moment feels like? I don’t think I’m used to it.

BREATHE. Okay thanks guys for letting me share.

I’ve just got one last thing… Goma Cupcakes with Matcha Buttercream. If you can’t find black sesame paste, use about 60g of toasted black sesame seeds crushed in a mortar and pestle instead. The cupcakes are super fluffy, offering a nice stark contrast against the super rich, luscious matcha frosting.

Goma Cupcakes (adapted from White Velvet Butter Cupcakes from Rose’s Heavenly Cakes, half recipe makes 6 cupcakes)

45g egg whites, room temperature
1/3 cup milk
3 tsp Goma paste, available at Japanese grocers (black sesame paste)
1 tsp pure vanilla extract
1 cup GF Flour Blend
1/2 cup caster sugar (divided)
1/2 tsp baking powder
1/2 tsp baking soda
pinch of salt
1/2 stick unsalted butter, softened

1) Preheat oven to 170°C. Line 6 cupcake tins with paper liners.

2) In the bowl of a stand mixer, mix the flour, baking soda, baking powder, 1/4 cup sugar and salt. Add in the butter and mix on low until the mixture looks like breadcrumbs.

3) Whisk the Goma paste into the milk. Add in the milk in 2 additions, mixing well after each time. In a separate bowl, either by hand or using a handheld mixer, whisk the egg whites until frothy. Slowly add in the remaining 1/4 cup of sugar and whisk until soft peaks form. Fold the egg whites into the batter. Divide amongst the paper liners and bake for 18-20 minutes or until a skewer inserted comes out clean.

Green Tea Buttercream

80g unsalted butter, room temperature
200g icing sugar, sifted
2-4 tbsp whipping cream (or milk)
2 tsp green tea powder (available at Japanese supermarkets)

1) In a stand mixer fitted with a paddle attachment, beat the butter and icing sugar on low until combined and smooth. Add the green tea powder and 2 tbsp whipping cream, mix on low.

2) Turn the machine onto medium-high and beat for 30 seconds until lighter in texture. If mixture is very stiff, add in more whipping cream, 1 tbspo at a time.

3) Frost cooled cupcakes.

4) Let cakes cool in pan for 10 minutes before removing to cool completely on a wire rack. Frost and enjoy!

4 Comments

Filed under Cupcakes, Frostings, Inspired, Recipes

4 responses to “Goma Cupcakes with Matcha Buttercream

  1. I’ve not heard of the paste before, I’ll have to track it down. Hope the visa comes through soon. Good luck!

  2. Very yummy looking cupcakes! I’ll definitely have to give the frosting a whirl too, interesting concept and such a beautiful vibrant colour!

    Best of luck with the visa application, I do sympathise – It must be such a stressful situation. I’d suggest you are most likely ‘frozen in the moment’ rather than ‘living in it’ – fingers crossed everything comes through for you and soon!

  3. Thanks for the shoutout, Vicky! These cupcakes are looking lovely, I made goma cupcakes with matcha frosting once too, and they were a hit! Beautiful combination!

Leave a Reply

