Sticky Caramel Popcorn

The other night, I found myself at the end of my bed, stretched horizontally across, face flat on the covers. I figured that if I could contain myself from yelling, crying, sighing and whining, the day would automatically seem better. It didn’t work. 5 minutes later the laptop was by my side, churning out sad song after sad song after sad song.

Last night I found myself furiously typing away, searching for the lyrics to all my favourite songs so I could sing along. There was no way to describe the lightheaded happiness I felt, giddy from the feeling and never wanting it to stop. Funny right?

The only silver lining to knowing how it feels to be upset and completely swamped with negative thoughts is also knowing how being incredibly happy feels. So I’m just quite glad my happy day has finaallllyyy arrived. Let’s hope things look up from now on and lead to great news (shhh…like getting the visa!!!).

So in celebration of polar opposites that somehow…complement each other (like cowboy boots and pretty frocks!), here’s a salty, sticky caramel popcorn! Plus, it’s ridiculously easy too and looks like a huge ball of fluff.

Salty, Sticky Caramel Popcorn (adapted from Gourmet Traveler Australia, Sep 2010)

100g butter
120g caster sugar
60g honey
1 bag of naturally salted popcorn (ingredients should read salt, corn and oil, weighing about 90g)

1) Pop the popcorn in the microwave according to the packet instructions. It usually involves hearing a whole slew of magic popping sounds and they’re done when the popping starts getting less frequent. When done, remove the popped corn from the bag and transfer to a large bowl.

2) In a medium saucepan, place the butter, sugar and honey. Heat over a small-medium flame until the sugar dissolves. Bring to a boil for 2-3 minutes. It looks like a mad festival of bubbling. The colour won’t be as dark as a normal caramel and it doesn’t burn quite as easily.

3) Remove caramel from heat and stir gently. Bubbles to start to settle and disappear leaving you with a pale, sticky liquid. Pour over the popcorn and mix until they are all covered. I actually left mine slightly unevenly mixed just so there are salty and sweet bites.

6 Comments

Filed under Caramel, Recipes

6 responses to “Sticky Caramel Popcorn

  1. meimei

    omg you’re making me droooooooollllllll

  2. Yippee for a happy turn of events, even if a “homemade” one! I love that you made your sticky caramel popcorn with honey, Vicky. :-)

    Hope that visa issue gets resolved soon!
    Shirley

  3. Yummm! I know how frustrating paper work and red tape can be! Read my ‘Who am I’ Singapore Noodle Post to hear about me trying to get citizenship papers for my own country!

  4. Caramel popcorn would make me sing out loud any day. Well done!

  5. A happy treat indeed.
    Mimi

  6. Pingback: Carrot Cupcakes with Limoncello Cream Cheese Frosting | Gluten Free: Sweets At Vicky's

Leave a Reply

