Oatmeal, Chocolate & Peanut Butter Cake

Being jobless means you instantly start losing track of time. And weekends.

Which also means you don’t necessarily feel the thrill of a well-deserved Friday night because every day looks like a Friday to you. Don’t hate me. I brought cake to share!

Actually, I don’t quite like the weekends all that much since the shops get super crowded and I feel the need to be doing something. Wasting a weekend is a crime. And yet, if I say, woke up early on a Friday, baked a cake, even managed to frost it, met up with my cousin for lunch, shopped, walked and swam, perhaps I could get away with being a bum on Saturday. We’ll see how that works for me tomorrow.

Today’s cake is brought to you by an awesome blog, Bake or Break, who was inspired by the new cookbook Baked Explorations. It didn’t say to include the peanut butter chips but I figured it could no harm. The book states that the cake can be made without the cream cheese frosting but oh, if you insist, I’ll load on the cheese. It is imperative that the cake is frosted with the luscious cream cheese or half the intensity of the cake is lost.

Oatmeal, Chocolate Chip & Peanut Butter Cake

  • 4 ounces chocolate chips
  • 4 ounces peanut butter chips
  • 1/2 teaspoon liquor, such as bourbon or Scotch (I used Amaretto)
  • 1 & 1/2 cups + 2 Tablespoons GF flour blend
  • 1 cup GF rolled oats (Bob’s Red Mill)
  • 1/2 cup unsalted butter, cut into small cubes, at room temperature
  • 2 eggs, slightly beaten
  • 1/2 cup granulated sugar
  • 1  cup firmly packed dark brown sugar
  • 1/2 teaspoon salt
  • 1 teaspoon baking soda
  • 1 teaspoon baking powder

Preheat oven to 170°. Butter the sides and bottom of a 9″x13″ baking pan.

Toss chocolate chips with liquor in a small bowl. Sprinkle 2 tablespoons of flour over the chips and toss until coated. Set aside.

Heat 1 & 1/4 cups water to boiling. Place the oats and butter in a large bowl. Pour boiling water over oat mixture. Wait 30 seconds, then stir to moisten oats and melt the butter. Seat aside for 25-30 minutes.*

Whisk eggs, sugars, salt, baking soda, baking powder, and cinnamon. Fold in oatmeal, stirring until well combined. Fold in remaining flour, and then stir in chocolate chips. Pour batter into prepared pan.

Bake 40-45 minutes until a toothpick inserted in the center of the cake comes out clean. Cool on wire rack for 30 minutes.

*I didn’t wait the full 25 minutes and when the cake was baked, some of the oats seemed a little harder than the others. I advise you to stick with the timing specified. :)

Cream Cheese Frosting

  • 5 tablespoons unsalted butter, softened
  • 5 & 1/2 ounces cream cheese, softened
  • 2 cups confectioners’ sugar, sifted
  • 3/4 teaspoon vanilla extract

Beat butter until smooth. Add cream cheese and beat until combined. Beat in confectioners’ sugar and vanilla extract until smooth (about 1 minute). Cover bowl and refrigerate for at least 30 minutes.

Spread a thin layer of frosting over cake. Chill for 15 minutes before serving.

Store covered cake in refrigerator for up to 3 days

6 Comments

Filed under Breakfast, Cakes, Chocolate, Frostings, Recipes

6 responses to “Oatmeal, Chocolate & Peanut Butter Cake

  1. I totally understand your feeling–I only start my job in April, and since December I haven’t really seen the difference between weekdays and weekends, except that I don’t step foot in a store on Saturdays! More time to bake ;) This looks great!

  2. It’s so nice to go mid week grocery shopping and erand running. No waiting in line!

  3. meimei

    OMNOMZZZZZZZZZZZZ

  4. Oh wow, that frosting looks so luscious. I bet your cake was incredibly yummy. I have a sweet treat linky party going on at my blog and I’d like to invite you to stop by and link your cake up as well as any other sweet treats you may have made this past week. http://sweet-as-sugar-cookies.blogspot.com/2011/02/sweets-for-saturday-5.html

  5. I just purchased that cookbook, but I don’t remember seeing this recipe in there? I will have to look again. Everything about this cake sounds delicious!

  6. Looks and sounds amazing!! I could definitely dive head first into it! LOL! :)

Leave a Reply

