Sunday’s Best

The signs are obvious- I think I’m falling ill. Sore throat, tired head, lazy feet, achy back. And such terrible timing for this to happen when my mom’s not home. No one to fuss over me and give me extra tea and sympathy. Boo.

Nevermind, suppose this means I can veg in front of the telly and flick over as many channels as I like, and settle on NCIS re-runs because I really don’t like Parenthood. And it also means I can eat whatever I want, so long as I drain as much water as I can before getting bored of it.

Suppose it also means that no one really saw me slathering my muffins with maple cream cheese. I’m pretty sure our walls have no eyes. Just the pineapple but he won’t tell- I’ll gobble ya!

Today’s muffin has a very earthy taste, definitely not for the super faint hearted. I do think that replacing the agave with maple syrup might be a mighty fine idea so if anyone does try it, let me know how it turns out.

Plum and Cornmeal Muffins (gluten free, egg free, refined sugar free, nut free and vegan) adapted from Babycakes

1/2 cup + 1 tbsp GF flour mix
1/2 cup cornmeal
1 tsp baking powder
1 tsp baking soda
1/3 cup agave nectar
1/4 cup canola oil
3 tbsp applesauce (I used Greek yogurt this time)
almond milk
1 tsp apple cider
2 small plums, washed
1 tbsp raw sugar

1) Preheat oven to 180°C. Grease and line a 6-hole muffin tin.

2) Halve and remove the stones of the plums. Slice each half into 5 slices. Set aside.

3) Mix the apple cider vinegar with the milk. Let stand for 5 minutes.

4) Whisk the flour, baking powder, baking soda together. Add in the cornmeal.

5) In another bowl, whisk the oil, agave and applesauce (yoghurt) together. Pour into the dry ingredients and mix well.

6) Slowly add in the soured milk and mix well. Divide batter evenly in the tin and place 3-4 slices of plum on top. Sprinkle the raw sugar and bake for 22-25 minutes.

7) Remove from oven and let cool for 10 minutes before removing from pan.

8) If you like, mix up some cashew cream frosting (here’s one!) with 1-2 tbsp of maple syrup and ice the muffins or if you’re not lactose intolerant (or calorie intolerant), use a cream cheese frosting base (try this) instead. SO GOOD!

6 Comments

Filed under Fruit, Recipes

6 responses to “Sunday’s Best

  1. The maple cream cheese can be our little secret!

  2. Maybe you should gobble that pineapple if you’re feeling poorly..

    Interesting recipe! Hope the muffin magic has you feeling better soon :)

  3. Oh, I know that feeling too well–I miss the days when I didn’t have to go to work sick! Your muffins look perfect for NCIS :)

  4. I hope you’re feeling better! Never underestimate the healing power of cream cheese and maple.

  5. I hope you feel better soon! These muffins look very moreish – just the thing to cheer someone up :)

  6. i have maple syrup at home but will need to pick up a few more ingredients to make this one! would actually like to try using the agave nectar, keep coming across it in recipes and need to get my hands on a bottle.

Leave a Reply

