Comfort in Chocolate

Today’s post is brought to you by the letter C.

C for chocolate, C for comfort, C for crazy.

For starters, I’ve embarked on a no refined sugar 21-day challenge- mainly to help with my eczema that’s flaring up. Then, because my upper wisdom tooth shifted and started chomping on my bottom gum, I had to get that tooth extracted. If you could picture me now, I’m a shaking I-NEED-MILK-CHOCOLATE-NOW mess who’s chewing whatever I can find with my head tilted to one side. Very attractive.

It’s hard enough avoiding refined sugar but with a sore gum? That’s just cruel. All I really want to do is dive headfirst into a huge cookie and a glass of cold soy milk. Then I remember that no-I can’t have commercial chocolate, and even if I COULD have the cookie, I can’t chew the darn thing. Give up? Me? Nah…

Enter Chocolate pudding! Handsome, gooey, non-chewy, sweet, yet within all the boundaries I have set myself. Is this brilliant or what? And they are great for drenching over vegan, sugar-free, gluten-free chocolate cupcakes which I miraculously have lying around from my baking spree this weekend. TA-DAH!

Chocolate Pudding (free from refined sugar, gluten, dairy and eggs)

2 cups soymilk (I suggest a thicker formula like Silk’s)
6 tbsp cocoa (I used Valrhona, it’s worth using a good cocoa since it’s the dominant flavour)
1/3 agave syrup
3 tbsp cornstarch
1 tbsp vanilla extract

1) In a medium saucepan, combine 1 2/3 cup soymilk, cocoa, agave and vanilla. Whisk thoroughly.

2) In another bowl, mix the remaining soymilk with the cornstarch until homogenous.

3) Bring the cocoa mixture to a boil, stirring constantly. This step takes awhile (6-8 minutes)

4) Once boiling, reduce the heat to a simmer and pour in the cornstarch mixture, whisking until completely combined. Increase the heat to high and bring to a boil while stirring.

5)Let it boil and thicken for 2 minutes and remove from heat. Divide between 4-6 ramekins. To prevent a skin from forming, place plastic wrap over the top of each ramekin, ensuring it touches the entire surface of the pudding. I quite fancy the skin so I left it plain in the fridge. Refrigerate for 2 hours at least or over night.

6) To serve, you can dust a teaspoon of cocoa powder over the top or whip some coconut cream for a more extravagant effect.

4 Comments

Filed under Chocolate, Recipes

4 responses to “Comfort in Chocolate

  1. Poor thing! maybe you could have some cocoa nibs too. Good luck!

  2. oh YUMMY this looks great and im so sorry to hear about your tooth i hope you get better xx

  3. Sorry about your tooth! I would dive into ice cream when my wisdom teeth hurt…but this seems like a much healthier alternative!

  4. You’re a genius! I’m very impressed your brain appears to be working better than mine on a good day, in the state you’re in, coming up with this!

    Hope the badness goes away soon xx

Leave a Reply

