Orange White Chip Cookies

Good Morning!

What do you have planned this Saturday?

With the number of crazy sales going on this weekend, I’d like to think I’m off to indulge in retail therapy but an upcoming dream vacation to London with my little sis (just the two of us!) means no spending and more saving.

In this case, one needs to entertain themselves in a various number of ways. I don’t mean a range of activities like afternoon tea with a friend or NCIS marathon. More like…cookies, granola, scones… that sorta thing.

And because I really wasn’t feeling all chocolate-d up, here’s one for days like these. White chocolate totally doesn’t count because it isn’t brown.

Orange and Vanilla Cookies (adapted from The Complete Magnolia Bakery Cookbook)
2 1/4 cup GF flour blend
1/2 tsp baking soda
1/2 tsp salt
1 cup unsalted butter, softened
1/3 cup sugar
1/3 cup brown sugar
1 large egg, room temperature
1 tbsp grated orange zest
1 cup white chocolate chips

1) Preheat oven to 175 degreesC, fanforced.

2) In a large bowl, cream the butter and the sugars together.

3) In another bowl, sift the flour, baking soda and salt. Set aside.

4) Add the orange zest and egg to the creamed butter. Mix until homogenous. Don’t panic if it curdles.

5) Add the flour in, mixing well. Add in the white chocolate chips. Mix to combine. If mixture seems incredibly stiff, add 1 tbsp of milk, mix well. (I ended up adding 2 tbsp of milk)

6) Drop by rounded tablespoonfuls onto a cookie sheet. Using the back of the spoon, spread out the cookie until it’s flat-ish. Mine didn’t spread much at all so it’s good that I did this.

7) Bake for 15-18 minutes, or until firm to touch. It will crispen up upon cooling.

16 Comments

Filed under Chocolate, Cookies, Fruit, Recipes

16 responses to “Orange White Chip Cookies

  1. A trip to London sounds awesome! Yes, more saving and more baking for us!

    I like white chocolate infinitely more than chocolate chocolate so I’m so glad you made these cookies! Love the orange infusion.

  2. Ha! I love that white chocolate can be included in non-chocolate cravings–I feel the same way! These cookies look great :)

  3. I really like chocolate… and this sounds a very good recipe!!! Orange and choco… a great combo!

  4. I have never tried gluten free cookies before so it would be interesting for me to try this recipe. Have fun in London. See you when you get back.

  5. These cookies look gorgeous – I am definitely going to try and make them although I’m sure they won’t look as nice as yours x

  6. London – how fun! I always find baking is a great way to entertain myself too. The cookies look yummy.

  7. These cookies look delicious Vicky!! My “gluten free” friend Craig would love these.

  8. oo how exciting! Definitely start saving up for London, i never felt so poor until using british pounds :( The cookies look goooood, i actually prefer white chocolate over black (oops) ;)

  9. oooh london how exciting!

    these are so simple ill have to make a batch some time this wk

  10. White chocolate and orange is like a creamsicle cookie! How yummy. When is your trip to London? sounds like a fun time with your sis.
    Mimi

  11. You’re going to London? That’s wonderful! That’s one of my dream destinations.

    You’re right. White chocolate shares the name with chocolate, but it’s a totally separate food group. Perfect cookies!

  12. Two birds with one stone – stops you from going out on a spending spree, and means you get delicious cookies for way cheaper (and better) than buying them.

    Oh London, I was only there a week ago but I want to be back :(

  13. i actually would’ve never thought of combining orange and white choc chip – but when you think about it, they’re 2 flavours that would work together.
    ooh…i would love to go to london too!

  14. Cannot wait to see you Vicky!! :D x

  15. I have to say, I don’t think I’ve ever had chocolate chip cookies before. These sound great. Especially with the orange. Yum.

    Hope you have a great time in London with your sister.

  16. orange and white chips… that’s an interesting combination, gluten-free or not

Leave a Reply

