Sticky Date

I have a date tomorrow. It’s mighty exciting. I’m all packed to go visit a certain boy, we’re having a reunion FINALLY after almost 6 months. Well…it’s 5 and a half but 6 sounds sooo much longer and arduous. Melbourne here I come!

Onto other deliciously food-related things, I need help. You know the delicious chocolate frosting you get with tall, handsome cakes? Well it doesn’t like me. I’m having a very difficult time making it. I tried Nancy McDermott’s version but ended up with a goopy (VERY yummy) mess. Too watery? And what is with the ‘crunchy’ icing sugar bits I can taste?

See this awesomely gorgeous frosting? That’s what I’m after. The recipe from Hershey’s is very similae to Nancy’s but I’m slightly scarred from the multiple failures I’ve encountered with this type of ‘cooked’ frosting. Any ideas? What’s your favourite frosting?


And for those of you who love cake-sticky date no less- here’s one for you. As the Australian Women’s Weekly proudly says, this recipe has been “triple tested!” I wrote it for Expat Living, a Singapore-based magazine, and it’s a very good crowd-pleaser. Then again, so are the words “chocolate fudge” and “sticky caramel”.

I am looking forward to blogging from Melbourne. We have a few foodie adventures lined up including the quest to find the yummiest cannoli and a little shimmy up Sydney Road (huge array of Middle Eastern offerings). Til then! :)

9 Comments

Filed under Cakes, Caramel, Frostings, Inspired, Recipes

9 responses to “Sticky Date

  1. oh have fun in melb! will this be your first time??

    ive tried these, and they are not bad..!

    http://thepioneerwoman.com/tasty-kitchen-blog/2010/03/a-tasty-recipe-thats-the-best-frosting-ive-ever-had/

    • vicvickvicky

      Hi Betty, I used to live there actually, for four years. :) Thanks for the recipe link! I hope it turns out as I imagine chocolate frosting to be!

  2. Love that you’re writing articles!

    I use a frosting recipe that has worked every single time–it’s chocolate and uses sour cream (I use creme fraiche, actually, and the extra light one works as well), it’s somewhere on my blog if you’re interested!

    Have a wonderful date :)

  3. Oooh ooh ooh how exciting about your trip and date! Who cares about stinking frosting when there is such fun to be had :D

  4. I hope you have a fabulous time in Melbourne AND on your date!
    When I need a chocolate frosting I always use Ina Garten’s chocolate buttercream.

  5. have a fantastic time in melbourne! can’t wait to hear all the stories!

  6. meimei

    excuse me you’re so mean to facai a boy! he’s a b-b-blanka lollol. AND i’m going for badminton now. apparently our mom and sis are mighty skinny now. tsktsk!

  7. Ha ha what is there to worry about frosting and all when there is something so much better and exciting is going to happen right in front of your eyes so soon? Wish you all the best with your “sticky and hot date”, Vic!

    Sawadee from Bangkok,
    Kris

  8. Have fun in Melbourne! :D And my favourite chocolate icing is the Nigella sour cream chocolate icing. Oh my, it’s so moreish and has an ever so slight tang! :D

Leave a Reply

