Bite This Hot Chocolate

It’s so close I can taste it. Literally. This weekend tastes like kakigori- Japanese shaved ice drenched in matcha syrup and liberally topped with mochi balls and anko (red bean paste). It also tastes like an 80s-themed birthday party and cake. What does yours taste like?

Speaking of taste, I am happy to report that I am craving things again! Items like chocolate, burgers, green curry and of course, frozen yoghurt for lunch- all make it to the top of my list! It’s through this lesson that I learnt how phenomenally important food is to good conversation and good feelings.

Oh and I gave in and snipped my hair. I was going for Leigh Lezark but obviously my fringe isn’t quite long enough so it’s more bob-ish while I wait for it to continue growing.

In the meantime, if you love cake and hot chocolate, here’s one for us ‘innovative’ types, 2-in-1 sorta thing. Actually, it might even be one for the pudding lovers. That’s how I roll anyway.

Hot Chocolate Prune Cake (made gluten free & dairy free, adapted from The Australian Women’s Weekly)

1 1/4 cup (210g) seeded prunes
1 1/4 cup boiling water
1 tsp bicarb soda
60ml canola oil
1/2 cup brown sugar
1 cup GF flour blend
2 eggs
120g dark chocolate (55%), chopped into small chunks

1) Preheat oven to 175 degreesC. Grease a 20cm bundt tin thoroughly.

2) Combine prunes and water in the bowl of a food processor. Add baking soda and cover with lid of food processor. Stand 5 minutes.

3) In the bowl of a standing mixer, whisk the egg and sugar until double in volume and frothy. Add in the oil and whisk to combine.

4) Going back to the prunes, whizz it 3 times, 5 seconds each, until prunes look roughly chopped but not mushy.

5) Add the flour into the egg mix and whisk to combine. Add in prunes and chocolate. Mix well before pouring into the bundt tin. Bake for 50mins to 1 hour. Let cake stand for 10-15 minutes before turning out. Serve hot with chocolate sauce.

Chocolate Sauce

100ml almond milk
180g dark chocolate (55%), chopped coarsely

1) Heat chocolate in the microwave for 30 seconds on medium heat.

2) Heat milk in a small saucepan until just boiling. Slowly pour over warm chocolate in 2 additions, mixing gently after each.

16 Comments

Filed under Cakes, Chocolate, Fruit, Recipes

16 responses to “Bite This Hot Chocolate

  1. oh man i would love this right about now.. its mid morning & FREEZING! this would totally warm me up :O)

  2. Unreal recipe, love the prunes and would very much like to bite this hot chocolate please. SO GLAD you have your appetite back and thus I can imagine life is worth living again!

  3. bake in paris

    So glad your craving for food is back! And I can see that from your hot chocolate prune cake. Looks delicious and I just love how the chocolate sauce’s glossy appearance!!

    Sawadee from Bangkok,
    Kris

  4. Mmm it’s so close to me but so far! Oh and can we see a pic of your new haircut? :D

  5. look at that chocolatey decadence! how dare you. it’s only 9am here and you’re tempting me with this already. looks real good Vicky x

  6. rima

    PLEASE PLEASE PLEASE PLEASE bake it next week….
    im drooling now on my desk just by looking at the pic!!!!

  7. That looks heavenly! I saw a recipe for a prune cake the other day that intrigued me. I bet you can’t even taste the prunes in your dish (not that I don’t like prunes, ’cause I do, but a lot of people don’t) because it would just make it richer. Bet you just taste the chocolate, right?

  8. You’re back! Glad you recovered and starting to bake again. And you’re right, that chocolate prune cake is so close i can almost taste it..! ahhhhh, can’t say no to anything with thick chocolate sauce like that! Anyways, congrats on deciding to cut your hair, that’s one of the hardest decision a girls gotta make, and i gotta say, you really suit short hairstyles!

  9. Love how you put this in a teacup, so cute! Never had kakigori, but just reading your description is sending me on a treasure hunt…

  10. glad to hear your appetite is back! yay!
    and no, i’m not in melbourne next week but do enjoy your trip and i look forward to hearing about all your adventures!

  11. ohhh yeahh I want some !!! cheers de Paris Pierre

  12. meimei

    i have this song called you make it real by james morrison in my head. In 2 weeks time, YOU make it real! I want that thingamabobbychocolateywheeeee! :D meanwhile, let’s try and survive English paper I.

  13. Chocolate and prunes is a great combination. This looks so delicious.
    Mimi

  14. i’m not usually a prune person, but whoa, that looks really good

  15. hmm..I made a sticky prune cake recently but never thought of adding chocolate, it really makes sense though. I’ll definitely be giving this a go!

  16. Prunes are a very underrated ingredient. Why is it that at every breakfast buffet I’ve ever been to there are sad little stewed prunes or too big for one mouthful poached plums?

Leave a Reply

