A Grand Return

Hi Folks,

I’ve actually been back from Bali for around 5 days now. But it wasn’t the copious amounts of unpacking nor was it me being busy with work that has gotten me neglecting my baking. Actually, I’ve been working very hard. Very hard at getting well. The story’s rather dreadful so let’s just do a quick summary shall we?

Lack of sleep in Bali + dehydration in Bali + DODGY TOFU in Bali = high fever + throwing up + severe food poisoning + lying in bed + no appetite + I-don’t-feel-like-being-near-food.

I think we’re on the same page now. :)

My loss of appetite is the most worrying, I feel like I’m not myself. No cravings, no wanting to make anything, no getting excited over food (just happy I can stomach it down), really, the fun in my day has been sucked out. It’s so un-fun that I don’t have any wardrobe ideas, I get writer’s block and…I just sit flipping channels on the TV. I’m worse than Homer.

Luckily, I have a tiny resemblance of what may be an appetite now. So to celebrate Friday night (because it’s the greatest event ever!!!) and to mark the start of greater appetites to come, I baked a grand chocolate chip cake.


Light crumbed, with a texture between a cupcake and a moist muffin, it really is quite grand. I picked up some local Balinese vanilla pods for around 10 bucks for a pack of around 30 and added those speckles of vanilla into the cake. The perfumed cake is then mixed with mini chocolate chips which I now know, is necessary as my regular chocolate chips sank right to the bottom. No drama though, we’ll just have an upside down chocolate chip cake then!

Grand Chocolate Chip Cakes (adapted from Lisa Yockelson’s Chocolate Chocolate)
makes 5 jumbo cupcakes or 2 fairly thin 4-inch layers

1 1/4 cup GF flour blend
1 1/4 tsp baking powder
tiny pinch of salt
1/2 cup miniature semisweet chocolate chips (I used regular sized ones)
1/3 cup flavourless vegetable oil
1/2 cup caster sugar
1 large egg
1 large egg yolk
seeds from 1 vanilla pod (or 1 1/4 tsp vanilla extract)
1/4 cup almond milk
1/4 cup non-fat yoghurt

1) Preheat oven to 180 degreesC. Grease and line the bottoms of 2 x 4 inch round baking pans or cupcake tins.

2) In the bowl of a KitchenAid, fitted with a paddle attachment, beat the egg, egg yolk and sugar together until creamy (3 mins). Add in the oil and beat until emulsified.

3) Tip in the vanilla seeds, salt and the yoghurt. Beat well.

4) Whilst beating, mix the flour with the baking powder and add to the mixture in the mixer.

5) Beat until well combined, making sure to scrape down the sides of the bowl. Add in the chocolate chips and mix. Pour out into the prepared pans.

6) For 4 inch cakes, I baked mine for around 30 mins. This should roughly be the same for the cupcakes since they’re smaller but are taller in height. Note: These cakes don’t rise alot so don’t expect a peaked dome.

7) Eat, feel better, top with chocolate frosting to mend those wounds, whatever your wounds may be!

15 Comments

Filed under Books, Breakfast, Cakes, Chocolate, Recipes

15 responses to “A Grand Return

  1. YUM- I’m in need of some wound-mending. I think this might just do the trick. Thanks for sharing!

  2. Yum! I had 2 books from Lisa Yockelson and loved a lot of her recipes. This cake sounds fabulous~

  3. Glad to hear you’re better–food poisoning is the worst. An upside-down chocolate cake sounds perfect to celebrate being hungry again!

  4. Oh no, sorry to hear about the food poisoning in Bali! That seems like the worst place to get sick in, but i still hope you enjoyed the beach and sunshine even without an appetite. BTW, your vanilla pods sounds like quite the bargain, great way to use them on a chocolate chip cake!

  5. This is great recipe! Thanks for sharing.

  6. mm look at those choc chips :)

    and sorry to hear abt the food poisoning that really sucks :(

  7. Losing your appetite is truly the fastest way to losing a sunny outlook on life. Sure, it’s nice to have holidays and special occasions to look forward to, but you need some short term things too – such as your next meal!

    Wishing you exponentially speedy healing!

    Beautiful cake too, looks the perfect crumb for the little heart :)

  8. Oh babe I’m SO sorry to hear that! I think losing my appetite would be the worst thing ever…since so much of my life revolves around food.

    If anything made me want to eat again, it would be this cake! Looks fantastic.

  9. my grandma use to always say ‘eat tofu when you go to a new country – it settles the stomach’…sounds like i might reconsider after reading about your incident; hopefully you’re feeling better now. stomach upset aside, how was the rest of your bali trip?

    • vicvickvicky

      The rest of the trip was fun, I spent a little more than I imagined I would, all these hidden airport costs and whatnot, but hey! It was definitely an experience… :)

  10. Oh no! I hope you’re feeling better now you poor thing. But most importnatly welcome back and these look delightful! :)

  11. Hey, u got an awesome site with some drool-y recipes. In love with these chocolate chip cakes at the moment!

  12. how dreadful! it’s bad enough getting sick in any way, shape, or form, but the worst of all symptoms and side effects is loss of appetite. woeful! glad you’re on the mend, vicky, and i’m glad you’re back with one heck of a tasty treat. :)

  13. bake in paris

    Oh, Vicky…. I hope you are okay now…. and the appetite is back and all. Never realized that food poisoning is something that one should be warned about on the trip to Bali, but now I knew..

    Anything still have a good rest, and for someone who is lacked of appetite, this grand chocolate chip cake is definitely a boost …….

    Hope you are well soon…

    Sawadee from Bangkok,
    Kris

  14. So sorry to hear about your nasty experience! Boo on dodgy tofu, I say. I hope you’re feeling back to yourself and are ready to take on some more baking. Your cake looks beautiful!

Leave a Reply

