I Eat Bears

I’m off to Bali tonight, for a long weekend with a girl friend from uni! So, til then, I thought my bears and bunnies could keep you company.

I suffer from Stuffedtoyitis. It’s quite normal around this household. I don’t know if it’s a genetic problem but my mom is guilty of it too, and my sisters? Hell yeah.

I hate calling it a disease since it makes it sounds alot worse than it is. Call me insane but I like to think that I’m grown accustomed to it’s ‘side-effects’ such as weird stares from colleagues and friends wondering where in the world they picked me up from. The Boy is used to it, actually, I think he’s showing mild signs of Stuffedtoyitis.

And if you’re wondering how to spot those with this syndrome, tell-tale signs include…

1) talking to stuffed toys as if they would really respond
2) giving them names like slumber, Mr P and Blub (short for Blueberry Muffin)
3) watching TV with them because their favourite show is CSI Miami

These are just to name a few. And before you run away thinking all hell has broken loose, remind yourself of Mr Snuffles or your tattered blanket and relish in the joy he brought you. That’s how happy we feel everyday. Society may not be very accepting, but they’re just a grumpy lot.

The bears and bunnies I present today may not be as cuddly as Mr P (my polar bear), but they’re tasty, never get dusty, and are a very obedient bunch. They roll out easily, detach themselves from the baking paper amazingly well and are quick to make without having to chill your dough. Got you with the last step didn’t i?

Sugar Bears and Bunnies (adapted from KAF’s Sugar Cookies)

1.5 cup – 2 tbsp gf flour
2 tbsp gf flour
1/2 tsp baking powder
1/4 tsp baking soda
1 stick unsalted butter, softened
2 tbsp cream cheese*
1 tsp vanilla extract
1/2 an egg (break 1 egg, beat, divide into two)

1) Preheat oven to 180 degreesC. Line two baking sheets with parchment.

2) In a bowl of a KitchenAid, cream the butter and sugar. Add in the egg and beat well.

3) Add in the cream cheese and vanilla. Beat. Add in the flour. Beat until the mixture forms a smooth dough. It will look as if it won’t come together but it will.

4) If dough is too soft to roll out, chill for 30 minutes and try again. If dough is firm enough, roll out on a baking sheet until 1/4 inch thick. Use cute cutters to cut out shapes and gently peel it off the baking paper as if you were peeling a sticker. Bake for 15-18 minutes or until gently browned and surface feels firm to touch. Let cool on baking sheet for 5 minutes before transferring to wire rack to cool completely.

5) I melted chocolate chips for the faces and piped the details on.

PROBLEM! My chocolate didn’t set so the facial details smudge when touched. Should I put them in the fridge to set up?

12 Comments

Filed under Cookies, Recipes

12 responses to “I Eat Bears

  1. Too cute. Have a fun trip.
    Mimi

  2. Cute cookies! Can I say how jealous I am that you get to spend weekend trips in Bali?

  3. Oh wow, Bali! Hope you’re having fun over there! actually, what am i talking about, of course you’ll have fun over there, no need to hope for that. These sugar cookies are adorable, and i like how you decorated them conservatively, unlike the american sugar cookies which are flooded with icing. I’d pick one of these up any time!

  4. Very cute! Off to Bali hey? have a great time!

  5. Ooh I love this post! Super cute, and I like the use of cream cheese in the recipe.

    I have been known to suffer from Stuffedtoyitis, but one of my main symptoms is “helping” my bear to dance. He dances very well.

  6. i love to have fun cooking and these bears are just an example of what I like ! Pierre de paris

  7. If I had just a bit more room, I think I would be prone to stuffedtoyitis. I had a HUGE beanie baby collection when I was little. So maybe beanstuffedtoyitis is more accurate.

    These cookies are SO cute! I love that there is cream cheese in the batter…gives them extra oomph.

  8. meimei

    OMGGGGG I HAVE THAT DISEASE TOO :DDDDD GET WELL SOOONNN XXX

  9. bake in paris

    Vicky, these cookies are so cute!!! Happy holiday! Don’t forget to indulge yourself in all the heavenly foods there :-)

    Sawadee from Bangkok,
    Kris

  10. that settles it. i’m naming my next pet ‘blub.’

  11. Pingback: A month to go… « Chronicles of a cookbookworm

Leave a Reply

