Banana Cream Pie

This evening’s quite exciting for me. I have a date with two guys no less. Tall, slim and smart- The Boy better watch out! Just pulling you. I’m heading out for dinner with my two cousins. Their birthdays are coming up and I won’t be here so we thought we’d better have a dinner to celebrate.

And just when I thought I had the better of evening plans, The Boy tells me he’s off to watch Shutter Island. BLAH. I think he secretly know I’m itching to watch it but am too much of a wuss to without him.

I am a bit of a scaredy cat. But not today. Today I tried to make banana cream pie. That immediately makes me a brave soul since the the very word ‘pie’ instills some shaky fear into the baker in me. It really shouldn’t. Regular gluten pastry is a breeze to make, the rolling out may be slightly trying in 32 degree C weather, but nothing enough leave you an exasperated mess.

But gluten-free pastry making is a whole new other game plan. It’s lotsa work and personally, I find that the results are usually not worth to effort I put in. Bland, too hard, too ‘chewy’, too oily…it just isn’t the scrummy, buttery and flaky masterpiece. I HATE PIE.

I know I’ve had 60 percent success with this plum galette once but it really lacks all that is pie beauty. So I tried again. Craving banana and custard, I opted for a banana cream pie variation without the usual whipped topping since I didn’t have cream on hand. So pie crust filled with dark chocolate, sliced bananas and pastry custard was the order of the day!

The result?

The sides of the crust were yummy and crisp but the bottom just wouldn’t listen! It was pleasant but short on the BAM! YUM! factor. The chocolate, bananas and custard were superb friends though, lifting the mediocre crust to delicious heights. But yeah, I guess this Sugar High Friday challenge: Personal Feats of Dessert hosted by Jasper of Vampituity wasn’t too much of a uber success. But hey, I tried! So, anyone with a killer gluten-free pie crust recipe?

Oh, and after all the fuss, I realize The Boy is watching Shutter (the Thai scary flick) and not the brain-puzzling Shutter Island.


Pie crust: I used the same recipe I used here, hoping to give it a second try. I made half the recipe and got 3 pie shells baked in jumbo muffin tins.

Pastry Cream (taken from The Cook’s Book)

250ml whole milk
22.5 cornflour
40g sugar (increase to 60g if you prefer a sweeter cream)
1 vanilla pod (I use 1 tsp vanilla paste)
3 egg yolks
1 tbsp milk, at room temperature

1) Place the milk in a medium saucepan and slowly bring to a boil. Whisk it constantly, to prevent the sides from  burning

2) In a medium bowl, whisk the egg yolks and sugar together until pale and thick. Add in the cornflour and whisk to thoroughly blend.

3) Once milk begins to boil, remove from heat and in a slow steady stream, add it to the egg mixture, whisking as you pour it in. Then, strain back into the saucepan, adding the vanilla.

4) With the saucepan over medium heat, whisk the egg mixture as it heats. It will begin to thicken quite quickly. At this point, ensure that you whisk the pastry cream really well. When you see the first signs of bubbling through the pastry cream, remove from heat and immediately pour it into bowl and place a sheet of plastic wrap over it, touching the surface. Let cool in the fridge until ready to use.

5) When ready to use, remove from fridge, whisking to smoothen the cream and adding 1 tbsp of milk to make it less ‘tough’

To assemble tart:

1) Melt 60g of dark chocolate (70%) and paint the insides of the pie shells. Allow to briefly set (10 minutes)

2) For every 3 pie shells, slice 1 medium banana thinly. Place 3 banana slices on the chocolate bottom, topping it with 2-3 tbsp of custard. Top with another 3 banana slices and some chocolate chips.

3) If desired, add a glaze over the bananas to prevent browning. You can use a watered down apricot jam.

19 Comments

Filed under Chocolate, Events, Fruit, Recipes

19 responses to “Banana Cream Pie

  1. three words it PAINS me to read: i. hate. and pie. how sad! i’m sorry your crust wasn’t drool-worthy, but the filling components alone would satisfy me. good on you for facing your fears. :)

  2. Shirley@gfe

    Such beautiful little pies! I really don’t make gf pie crusts. I usually make crustless pies (so easy to make by adding 1/4 cup gf flour to the mix) and pour over pie crusts.

    Shirley

  3. I don’t care what you say, I want to eat one of those!

    And don’t be too scared about Shutter Island. My parents went and watched it, which really surprised me, and weren’t very scared at all by the sounds of it!

  4. Gluten free pastry is enough to make anyone scared! I feel you sister, just had a similar experience with some cookies, not worth the effort, but your pie looks yummy so looks like you got it down

  5. i have yet to master the pie base! no matter how careful i am, how much i chill the pastry, my pie bases are always shrinking or get holes in them as I roll them out..it’s rather frustrating but I haven’t given up on them quite yet!

  6. Congratulations on having the perseverance to get your gluten-free recipes just right! Trial and error is what makes perfected recipes the best–you know a lot of work went into them!

  7. They looks yummy. I would just go crustless and maybe add a crispy GF cookie for crunch.
    Mimi

  8. The pie filling looks delicious. Sorry the crust was so frustrating. I just got a GF cookbook with a crust recipe. I’ll send it to you and you can tell me how it is.

  9. I’m sorry the pie wasn’t everything you hoped it to be. Better luck next time. It sure looked delicious!

  10. Chocolate sounds like a great addition to banana cream pie. I applaud you for trying to perfect a gluten free crust. I looked in my Perfect Pies book for tips on preventing a soggy bottom crust and it suggested baking in the lower third of the oven, filling was not cool when put into crust, or serving the filling as a pudding with a little top crust on each serving – sort of an upside down pie I guess.

    • vicvickvicky

      Hi Barbara,

      Thanks so much for your lovely advice and seeking professional words from your book! Upside down pie eh? We could totally start a trend!

  11. Even the first glance into the title, I got completely tempted to try this recipe. I mean who could resist a banana cream pie, right?

    Well, cheer up! Do a second round and I am sure you will see a different crust result! And btw, the pastry cream is to die for!!

    Sawadee from Bangkok,
    Kris

  12. I’ve never actually had banana cream pie. I know, what am I waiting for, right? Yours looks really good- love how shiny the banana slices look on top- sorry the crust didn’t turn out the way you hoped it would though. We’ve all been there :)
    Thanks for dropping by my blog!
    Magda

  13. I love the idea of painting the pie bottoms with chocolate, i mean starting with that, there are endless possibilities for other pie flavors!

  14. Gorgeous little pies! Love banana with chocolate :)

  15. meimei

    omggg it looks so gooodddd

  16. This is one of the best recipes of banana pie that I have tried in a very long time. Thanks a lot for sharing as my daughter and wife loves it very much. Kudos to you!

  17. My partner and I absolutely love your blog and find most of your post’s to be just what I’m looking for. Would you offer guest writers to write content available for you? I wouldn’t mind writing a post or elaborating on a lot of the subjects you write about here. Again, awesome blog!

Leave a Reply

