Chocolate Chip Cookie and the City

Sinful is the best way to describe the last two days and a half.

As if a treat to the movies with a girl friend for a belly full of laughs wasn’t enough, my colleague invited me to the gala reception of Animal Farm, an adaptation of George Orwell’s classic but much, much funnier.

This is probably one of the many reasons why I love my job. It’s got me looking at Singapore in a whole new light. Being away for so long, I suddenly feel like I’m finally being let into the inclusive ‘know-Singapore-better’ club. Suddenly, I realize this little, yet greedy island, wants to be a part of everything. And I LOVE IT!

Two dinner dates and plenty of kakigori (Japanese shaved ice), crispy shrimp pancake and eating taste-testing the cakes for the company picnic this arvo. Weekends are completely edible affairs!

Speaking of edible, I’ve been doing some edible research. You know how every diligent blogger has inevitably done the ‘perfect chocolate chip cookie’ research module at baker school? Well, I’ve been cheating. I have been using their hard, hard work and using it for my own baking pleasure. And a few too many cookies, I have this to report. Aging the cookie batter for a few hours, or better yet, overnight, does improve it’s quality. I’m not sure why though. Can anyone tell me why?

These cookies are crisp. I suppose if you under bake them slightly, maybe 2 minutes less, you’ll get the chew-chew of the chewy.

Munch munch.


Crisp Chocolate Chip Cookie (adapted from Sur La Table)

1 1/2 sticks unsalted butter, softened
1/2 cup caster sugar
1/2 cup brown sugar
2 large eggs
3 tsp vanilla extract
2 c + 2 tbsp GF Flour Blend
2 tbsp sweet rice flour
1/2 tsp baking soda
1 tsp salt
2-2 1/2 cups semisweet chocolate chips
1/2 cup chopped nuts or raisins (optional)

1)Prepare an airtight container to store the dough overnight.

2) In the bowl of a stand mixer, cream the softened butter and sugars together until pale and fluffy, about 2 mins on medium speed. Scrape down the sides of the bowl with a rubber spatula

3) In a medium bowl, whisk the flours, baking soda and salt together.

4) Add in eggs one at a time into the butter mix, blending well after each addition. Don’t worry if it looks curdled, once you add the flour it’ll be alright.

5) Add in the vanilla and the flour, blend until there are no streaks of flour.

6) Add in the choc chips and nuts. Mix well. Transfer dough to an airtight container and leave dough in fridge overnight.

7) Bring dough to room temperature (I left mine out for 30 mins in a bowl of warm water). Preheat oven to 180degreesC and line baking sheets with parchment. Drop dough by tablespoonfuls onto the baking parchment and bake for 18 minutes (crisp). Leave to cool on baking sheet for 10 minutes before transferring to wire rack to cool completely. SINK YOUR TEETH INTO THEM!

5 Comments

Filed under Chocolate, Cookies, Recipes

5 responses to “Chocolate Chip Cookie and the City

  1. Hey life’s more fun when it’s sinful isn’t it! Lovely looking cookies, I’m used to chewy chocolate chip ones but I think I’d also like crispy ones too!

  2. i defo prefer chewy over crunchy :) and what a nice addition the raisiNs!

  3. I can only imagine how fun it was to taste-test for your company! I will embrace taste-testing of any sort if anyone would pay me to do it, lucky you!

    I always enjoy discovering new chocolate chip cookie recipes. I tried Alton’s Brown “the chewy” last time you introduced in your post and it was delicious! I should try this one again and underbake as you suggested to compare the chewniess. can’t wait!

  4. I’m definitely a chewy cookie kind of girl! So lucky for going on a big taste test through Singapore…making me want to get a plane ticket and taste everything myself!

  5. overnight batter? I love a good crispy cookie. Thanks for sharing.

Leave a Reply

