Daim! It’s Easter

Today’s post happens on a slightly more exciting-than-usual day. It’s Sunday, Easter Sunday! Know what that means (for me)? Chocolate for breakfast and no guilt about it! My initial plan was for banana pancakes then I thought I really couldn’t be too fussed standing over a stove, flipping them. And there was nothing too sinful about banana pancakes.

What’s a girl to do? I eyed the bag of Daim chocolate (swedish confection with crunchy toffee and milk chocolate) sitting on the countertop and remembered this lovely drool-worthy recipe from Chocolate & Zucchini. How could I ever resist?

The cake was so much more than I imagined. I thought it would be kind of buttery, dense, with toffee chocolate studded throughout. But this would be such an insult to the moist, tender crumbed cake I pulled out of the oven, sweet and mildly salty from the Daim and oh-so-tempting. I think that the cake itself is so yummy, one could use it as a base for countless happy add-ins. I’ve got big plans for blueberries, raspberries and white chocolate.

Before I share the recipe, here’s a small hug to my friend Vee, who’s turning 22! The first of us 3 girls, definitely exciting (since 22 is the new 21…). She prefers to call it the 6th anniversary of her 16th. We spent her ‘anniversary’ with brunch, hotcakes, french toast, bacon & eggs. Oh and this…

From me to you, Happy Birthday Vee!


Gluten Free Daim Cake (adapted from Chocolate & Zucchini)

*Makes a 5 inch cake, this is a halved recipe

1.5 cups GF flour blend
2 tbsp almond meal
1.5 tsp baking powder
1/8 tsp baking soda
1/2 + 1 tbsp cup non-fat plain yoghurt
150g Daim, chopped roughly (half a bag)
1/3 cup granulated sugar
3 tbsp brown sugar
2 large eggs
1/3 cup canola oil
pinch of cinnamon
1 tsp vanilla extract

1) Preheat oven to 170 degreesC. Grease and line a 5 inch round cake tin with parchment.

2) In the bowl of a KitchenAid, add the eggs and sugars together. Beat for 4 minutes on medium, or until creamy looking.

3) While the eggs are beating, mix the flour, almond meal, baking soda, baking powder and cinnamon in a bowl.

4) Add the oil into the egg mix and beat for 2 minutes of until emulsified.

5) Add in half the flour and half the yoghurt. Blend well. Repeat with the remaining flour and yoghurt.

6) Topple in the chopped Daim and mix until evenly distributed, about 30 seconds.

7) Pour the batter into the prepared cake tin and bake for 35-40 minutes or until a skewer inserted comes out clean *Mine has a few crumbs but I’m guessing it’s normal because of the chocolate pieces*

21 Comments

Filed under Cakes, Caramel, Chocolate, Events, Recipes

21 responses to “Daim! It’s Easter

  1. vee

    thanks vicc!! the cake was super pretty and yummmmmm.

  2. First of all, that birthday cake is adorable! Did you make it? I wish I was better with a pastry bag!

    And the divine Daim cake? I must make it. Soon. (And I wish I had one sitting in the kitchen right now for my breakfast.) Don’t think I have ever seen Daim chocolate around here but I’m sure going to search.

    Happy Easter, Vicky!

  3. Oh Vicky, I KNOW those Daim chocolates. Oh yeah. ;) And I LOVE the idea of celebrating the 6th anniversary of your friend’s 16th! That’s so clever. :) It’s such a beautiful cake you baked for her. The frosting is perfect! The Daim cake is comfort food. But that birthday cake is elegant and oh-so-classy.

  4. Shirley@gfe

    Both beautiful cakes! So pretty to look at on this sunny Easter morning. :-)

    Shirley

  5. Hi! Thanks for the comment on my blog. Your blog is very interesting to me and I’m definitely going to check it out a bit more. Hope you have a wonderful Easter!

  6. Ahh! I love love LOVE Daim chocolates…must make this cake as soon as possible! And that birthday cake looks amazingly yummy…thanks for sharing!

  7. Hehe I am such a freak for Daim! At first I wasn’t sure about this cake-I mean it doesn’t look very chocolatey but your description has convinced me otherwise. I hope you’re having a great Easter! :)

  8. Looking at that cake makes me wish that every sunday would be easter, so I could have an excuse to eat it. Have an excellent day my dear!

  9. Happy Easter to you too! JLo and I are visiting my aunt and her newborn baby in amsterdam, oh how i love the smell of babies <3 <3!
    Looks like you also had an awesome holiday when it starts with a Daim cake for breakfast! And happy birthday to your friend Vee. That cake looks amazing! Ahhh i love the decorations of branches and blossoms, the pastels look very fitting for easter as well!

  10. Happy Easter, Vicky!

    The photo shots are beautiful and unique. And I would be so delighted if anyone ever bakes me such a beautiful birthday cake….. Vee is such a lucky friend :-)

    Sawadee from Bangkok,
    Kris

  11. i’ve never heard of daim chocolate before, but now i REALLY want to know more

  12. I just love daim. I think the first time I had them was about 15-20 years ago when I was living in the UK. I could eat a whole bag. Like I could eat this entire cake. Delicious!

  13. I haven’t had Daim chocolates, but now I will look around for them. Pretty cake for your lucky friend.
    Mimi

  14. Beautiful daim cake! I wished I could have some.

  15. Looks delicious and chocolate for breakfast? My kind of girl! Did you make the birthday cake as well? It’s beautifully decorated.

  16. what a beautifully decorated cake :O)

  17. Happy Easter to you! That cake looks so soft I want to jump into the tin with it and bounce around.

    Happy birthday to Vee too! What a birthday cake!

  18. I love daim! I’ve bookmarked this. I am no baker but one day I will… in the mean time I just drool at these beautiful recipes.

  19. I’ve never seen or heard of Daim chocolates before (or maybe I have and just don’t know) but I will be hunting some down! :) The cake does look fluffy!

  20. such a gorgeous cake! i was away all easter and didn’t get round to any easter baking; it feels almost unnatural. but hmph, i’m going to make my first batch of hot cross buns regardless of whether easter has passed or not :)

  21. Beautiful cake! I wished I could have some for my kids.

Leave a Reply

