How I live up to my bad reputation

I have a reputation around here. A kinda reputation that screams ‘don’t mess with me, I’m trouble’.  This will actually be really funny if you’ve met me. I am as scary as a teddy bear, real mean, with claws to match.

I’m still uncertain if I like the reputation I’ve earned for myself so maybe you can help me decide if it’s a good thing or not. People view me as trouble and they don’t bother hiding this fact from me. I wreck disaster on their daily lives, and bring about feelings they try hard to suppress. In my defense, I’d say “better out than in” but they don’t always agree.

So what do I do that make people either love or not love me? I make them want cake.

I swear I don’t do it intentionally but the very mention of cake or food just makes my small eyes grow slightly larger (I try hard to let people know they are larger). And I feel energetic, excited and positively interested. Plus I love sharing cake (means I get to bake more) so…what do you make of this reputation? Bad ass much?

Just to let you in on a secret, I’m not spared such tummy torture either. To prove it, here are 3 of my new books (2 of which, courtesy of my little sister) and the top 5 recipes in them that have left me with in a twist, a tasty dilemma of sorts, on what to prepare first. Life is so tough sometimes.


River Cottage by Huge Fearnley-Whittinstall (2009)

Firstly, this book has the cutest animations. The photos of the delicious food are real, but they come accompanied with these little drawings that almost seem like the voice in your head adding some life to a yummy dish. I found myself having a good laugh while drooling, which isn’t a very common sight. Modern British food, old school given a fresh new take.

Top 5 Recipes:
1) Chicken couscous, honey and cinnamon
2) Spinach, bacon and goat’s cheese frittata
3) Raspberry and strawberry Eton mess
4) Lemon Sponge Pudding
5) Beetroot, goat’s cheese and redcurrant salad

Ottolenghi The Cookbook by Yotam Ottolenghi and Sami Tamimi (2008)

Does this book really need an introduction? Well I will try anyway. Started in 2002, Ottolenghi has now made quite a name for itself. When I visit London, guess where I’m heading? The food is fresh, produce-centric (which can be a bummer since some of us may never get some of the items featured in the book) and will always be a pleasure to look at even if it may taste slightly different.

Top 5 recipes:
1) Couscous with dried apricots and butternut squash
2) Danielle’s sweet potato gratin
3) Apple and olive oil cake with maple icing
4) Carrot, apple and pecan muffins
5) Pistachio and ginger biscotti


Sur La Table: The Art and Soul of Baking by Cindy Mushet (2008)

This book is the bomb, literally, it’s heavy. This book is one of those “covers all bases” type, so it’s always handy to have around. You know you’re definitely going to use something from it. I already have! I guess there are times when people who bake a fair bit feel like they know most of the baking ‘rules’ but it’s always good to have a refresher and learn something new. The book seems to present the best of everyday classics.

Top 5 recipes:
1) Cream scones
2) Easy chocolate press-in dough
3) Pineapple, kumquat and ginger crisp with coconut topping
4) Tangerine-poppy seed chiffon cake
5) Peanut butter and chocolate marjolaine

Ta-dah! So here’s my wishlist. So, do you have any recipes that have been screaming “MAKE ME!” for the longest time?

5 Comments

Filed under Books, Inspired

5 responses to “How I live up to my bad reputation

  1. Oh good question, I have to many must make recipes that I just need the time to make them! The marjolaine sounds incredible! :o

  2. Haha I think my roommates feel the same way about me. I’m constantly baking…and so I think we have a kind of love/hate relationship.

    I have so many ideas about what I want to make…all the time..and now you’ve put even more in my head! These lists are incredible!

  3. Such a funny post! I feel the same way…in fact, I have a friend coming over this afternoon and have 6 lemon poppy seed muffins, chocolate-covered marshmallows, and two mini flourless chocolate cake waiting for him in a bag!!
    I have a huuuge list of recipes I’ve been meaning to make, most of them from my mother: raspberry mascarpone layer cake, for starters…

  4. The list is always too long each new book or blog post just adds to it. I’ll never catch up .
    Mimi

  5. i have too many recipes that i want to make that i’ve lost count! and yes, i know what it’s like to feel your pupils dilate and your attention return at the slight mention of cake – that’s me!

Leave a Reply

