A Zig Zac

I’m going to let you in on a secret. Come closer.

Ready? Ok.

I’ve never had an Anzac cookie before. Why is this a big deal? Simply because I lived where the cookie originated from! Imagine, every year, during Anzac day, while everyone had their day off, commemorating the friendship between the Australia and New Zealand, I worked for the double pay and never had an Anzac cookie. Sad stuff. Luckily I’ve had a lamington before, albeit a really dry version from Coles.

Another shocking discovery? I’ve never had Vegemite! Again, have I been living under a rock? To be fair, I’m allergic to the ingredients found in this spread. Apparently it is THE BOMB with crusty toast, thick lashing of butter and a healthy smear of the stuff. I know The Boy’s recently fallen for it, eating it just like his dad does. Am I missing something?

What other national-worthy dishes are there?

I agree with pancakes, maple syrup and bacon. Love my soy beancurd with black jelly(Singaporean hawker dessert at it’s best). So I really should check this whole Vegemite thing out. Anyway, back to the Anzacs, long story short, I finally made them, perfumed the whole house with caramel tinted butter and ate my weight in it before I could get it to the office.

I used Donna Hay’s recipe because who better to trust with a national icon than the iconic Aussie herself. oats + butter, golden syrup, coconut = love. I feel as if history has just been made.

Gluten-free Anzac Cookies (adapted from Modern Classics 2 by Donna Hay)

1 cup rolled oats (GF oats)
1 cup GF flour blend
1 tbsp cornstarch
1/3 cup brown sugar
3/4 cup dessicated coconut
2 tbsp golden syrup (I doubt mine was super accurate since it got messy)
125g butter
1/2 tsp bicarb soda
1 tbsp hot water

1) Preheat the oven to 160 degreesC. Line 2 cookie pans with parchment.

2) In a large bowl, mix the oats, flour, cornstarch, coconut and sugar together.

3) In a medium saucepan, melt the golden syrup and butter. Careful not to boil/burn it. Take off the heat. Mix the bicarb soda andf water together. Pour into the butter mixture.

4) Pour the butter mixture into the dry ingredients, stirring as you go. Mixture will look ‘crumbly’, not very much like a typical batter.

5) Drop tablespoonfuls of the batter onto the parchment, trying your best to keep the batter together (it will seem fairly crumbly but will come together while baking)

6) Bake for 10-12 minutes. Cool on wire rack. Eat and be transported to Australia immediately.

19 Comments

Filed under Cookies, Recipes

19 responses to “A Zig Zac

  1. i had to wikipedia most of the things you mentioned and omg, im intrigued by this Vegemite that you mentioned. A beef bouillon-taste-alike spread on toast? They should make that everywhere! And does soybean curd = “dou-hwa”, kinda like soy jelly? If so, i loooove it as well! I discovered a perfect combo of soybean curd + lemon juice this summer… gahhhh i can’t stop salivating right now.

    This anzac cookie looks so healthy covered in oats, i’ve got to try this sometime!

    • vicvickvicky

      YES! Dou-hwa! I absolutely adoree it! I can’t imagine it with lemon juice, how do I prepare it? Just spritz it with the juice while it’s in its glorious syrup?

      • I know! I was a bit skeptical when i saw lemon dou-hwa on the menu, but decided to give it a try since i love all things lemon. Just squeeze in your desired amount of lemon juice to the syrup and you’re set! It’s especially refreshing during the summer.

  2. I’ve heard Vegamite is a love it or hate it item. Haven’t tried it, yet. I’d try your cookies, though. They look wonderful!

  3. I’ve never had one yet either, but judging by the ingredients, i think I’d love one.
    My new blog went up today and I am so excited. Stop by and check out my brand new and improved site daaaahling. I want to know what you think. I’m also doing a fab give away.
    *kisses* HH

  4. New to me…but it sure looks good!

  5. I’ve heard about Anzac cookies before but never seen a recipe–now I know exactly what they’re made of! It’s often when you live in a country for a really long time that you don’t taste the “classics”–I had to move to France to discover what a lot of traditional American desserts were all about!

  6. hehe I do love Anzac biscuits-they have that super crunchiness that I love. As for Vegemite, I missed that boat and bizarrely I prefer Promite! :P

  7. Yummo! Anzacs are a classic and so yummy – glad you’ve tried them now.

  8. What delicious Anzac cookies! I never had one before either. I would love to try them and vegemite. I’ve heard so much about it.

  9. try have vegemite with butter on turkish toast – that is the bomb! otherwise my other favourite is vegemite and cheese on crackers – equally just as yummy. anyway, love the name you’ve given to this anzac cookie

  10. I’ve never had either of these. And kind-of feel severely deprived. Because the cookies look absolutely amazing.

    Don’t feel too bad. America has tons of staple food that I’ve never tried…a lot of really bad casseroles and such. I don’t feel like I’m missing out.

  11. Carmen

    Love your cookie babe, thanks for sharing with me on my way to work.

    totally cured those sweet tooth of mine :)

  12. I haven’t heard of theses cookies before, they looks delicious.
    Mimi

  13. I’ve never had Vegemite either….and I have a pack on Anzac cookies, waiting to be eaten!

  14. Cheers to you on enjoyng gluten-free anzac cookies.

    Vegemite, hmmm….I am not so sure I would miss that one :-)

  15. This looks good and yummy!

  16. I’ve never tried it too, although I don’t think I will like it, looking at the ingredients. I will, however, love your plum galette! :( I haven’t tried a lamington either! Sad. And I prefer marmite to vegemite. I had no idea you were Singaporean, Vicky!

  17. Thank goodness you’ve addressed this hole in your culinary experience! :D Do you like macadamias (or any nuts, really)? If so, please try this ANZAC recipe, I have made it a million times and they are always delicious and very popular! http://holdthebeef.blogspot.com/2009/12/aussing-up-christmas.html

    Also, I am a big fan of vegemite on hot toast with butter, but it’s also nice with toast and lots of avocado, or with crackers and cheese like panda suggested, or even with bread and some lettuce! Just a way of salting/savourying (totally a word) up a snack :)

Leave a Reply

