Plum Galette

Today, the boy asked me a question he’s never asked me before. “How are you coping with being this long-distance relationship?”

Me: ugghh, hate it! I can’t get used to it.

Him: It’ll help you cope better though!

Me: But then it means I’ll have to be ok with it. I don’t think so…

Okay, our conversation above got me thinking. If we all settled for options that made our lives easier just because, doesn’t it mean we’re not working towards a better situation. Like, if all of us GF-ers settled for tasteless, dense and gummy cake, how miserable would we be? Or if I said I’m just not that smart, does that mean not being a doctor equals epic fail?

Not quite. And I proudly say that whatever I am today, is a result of not just settling.

Onto more delicious things, I finally made a pie crust that IS a pie crust. No gummy, leaky bottoms, no buttery mess, no tasteless heap. Granted, it isn’t the best pie crust I envisioned making, but it’s so much better than all my other attempts that have left me exasperated and annoyed. It was sticky to work with, tricky to roll out (so I didn’t, just patted it out), but guess what? That’s the beauty of making a galette, it’s supposed to look homemade, slightly rustic, and unevenly edged.

I got the recipe from one of my new books, The Art and Soul of Baking from Sur La Table. It’s a heavyweight (physically and mentally) and got me flipping over and over, trying to decide which recipe to have a go at. I’ve bookmarked the cream scones and velvet chocolate pound cake.

Onto the recipe…

Gluten Free Pie Crust (adapted from The Art and Soul of Baking from Sur La Table)

125g butter, cut into small cubes and frozen
2 tbsp caster sugar
1 cup + 2 tbsp GF flour blend
2 tbsp sweet rice flour (glutinous rice flour)
pinch of salt
2-4 tbsp water, ice cold

1) In a large food processor, mix the flour, sugar and salt. Whizz for 2 seconds.

2) Tip the butter into the processor and whizz for 5 seconds, 3 times. Check the consistency. It should resemble peas and sand. If not, whizz a couple more times

3) Tip the mixture into a large bowl and add in 2 tbsp of water. Using a fork, fluff the mixture until it begins to come together. Using your hands, squeeze a bit of the mixture to see if it comes together as a dough. If it is dry and very crumbly, add in half a tbsp of water and fluff again. Repeat the squishing test. I added 3 tbsp of water in total.

4) Turn the dough out onto the tabletop, dusted with flour mix, and knead briefly. Mine was veryvery soft so after a quick mix, I placed it back into the bowl, covered it with clingwrap and refrigerated it for 30mins.

To Make the Plum Galatte:

3-4 medium plums, stoned and sliced into 12 slices
2 tbsp blackberry/blueberry/marionberry jam, lightly warmed
3 tbsp raw sugar
half batch pie crust

1) On a baking paper lined baking tray, pat the pie crust out, about 1/4 inch thick.
2) Spread the jam onto the crust, leaving a 3-4 cm edge. Arrange the plum slices onto the jam. Sprinkle the sugar over the plums.
3) Fold over the edge. If you find it sticky, use a floured plastic scraper to help you.
4) Preheat the oven to 180 degreesC. Place galette in the fridge.
5) When preheated, bake galette for 35-40 mins, or until edges are golden n plums have shriveled slightly.

12 Comments

Filed under Books, Breakfast, Fruit, Recipes

12 responses to “Plum Galette

  1. Beautiful galette! I just made plum jam this weekend, so it was deja vuish to see your lovely plum picture.

  2. A gluten free tart crust? Wow! Quite a feat! Especially since it looks absolutely delicious–I’m a fan of the sweet rice flour.

  3. This is gorgeous with those richly colored purple plums! Great job on the crust.

  4. Yummo! This galette looks devine – the plums have a very teeth-sinkable look about them.

  5. it’s dangerous everytime i read one of your posts – i end up checking out the cookbook you’ve used and adding it to my list of cookbooks to buy. loving the look of this plum galette!

  6. Wow – what a gorgeous dessert! It looks scrumptious.

  7. meimei

    I’M GOING HOME SOOOON!!!! <3333

  8. meimei

    and the galette (LOL im pronouncing it as gah-let, in the most singlish way ever) looks like a very yummy crumbly thingy! <333

  9. The galette idea sounds wonderful especially paired with plums! They’re one of my favorite fruits that i look forward to all year… but it wont be till summer until i get to have a taste of them in TW :(
    I can only imagine how tricky the pie crust was baking GF! But yay for not settling, that looks like a yummy pie of crumbles!

  10. Pingback: How I live up to my bad reputation « Gluten Free: Sweets At Vicky's

  11. This is such a pretty dessert! I’ve never made anything with plums…maybe I should add this to my repertoire!

  12. Pingback: Banana Cream Pie « Gluten Free: Sweets At Vicky's

Leave a Reply

