The Bee’s Knees

It’s Saturday. Not only that, it’s Saturday morning. The morning that fills me up with endless hope and possibility because the weekend is here. 2 days of doing whatever my heart desires. Of catching up with friends, baking more than usual, a little shopping (or alot), slow dinners and to please my inner child- staying up late!

It’s awesome how Saturday can me feel all sorts of things that bring a smile to my face. So much so that my body clock decides to be extra generous and wake me from my slumber a little earlier (7.15am) just so my Saturday morning lasts longer. FYI: I totally wouldn’t have minded sleeping until 8am.

Luckily for me, I have cake to soothe my slightly unnerved self. The perfect breakfast sort of cake, sweetened with honey and then a thick coating of blackberry jam slathered on. My mum had a stroke of utter genius when she suggested that the last honey loaf be covered in peanut butter followed by the jam. I got you there didn’t i?


I’ve been on a shopping spree lately, 5 books in the last 2 weeks, mainly because the bookstores caught me by my feet and literally dragged me in with their discounts. This Rosh Hashanah Honey Cake is from Nancie McDermott’s Southern Cakes. I’m guessing it’s typically served during the Jewish New Year (Rosh Hashanah).

I thought the cake would taste far too honey-fied if eaten in largER amounts so the sour blackberry jam tones the sweetness down while still allowing the flavour of the spiced cake to shine. I wouldn’t particularly choose it for a dessert but it’s quite decadent after I ‘destroyed’ it with peanut butter and jam. On it’s own, it’s definitely breakfast and afternoon tea worthy!


Gluten Free Honey Cake with Blackberry Jam (adapted from Southern Cakes by Nancie McDermott)

1 ½ cup GF flour blend
¼ cup almond meal
1 tsp baking powder
¼ tsp baking soda
½ tsp cinnamon
1 cup honey
2 eggs
¼ strong coffee (cold)
3 tbsp canola oil
1 tbsp almond milk

1)      Preheat oven to 170 degreesC. Grease and line a 9 by 2 inch loaf pan with parchment (I used 6 mini loaf tins)

2)      In a large bowl, sift the flour, baking soda and baking powder. Add in the almond meal and cinnamon. Mix well.

3)      In the bowl of a KitchenAid, fitted with a paddle attachment (you can do this with a hand whisk as well), mix the eggs and brown sugar until creamy. Add the oil, mix until emulsified.

4)      Add in the coffee and half the honey to the egg batter. Mix well. Add in half the flour.

5)      Add in the remaining honey and almond milk and the remaining flour. Mix until just incorporated. Mixture will be on the thin side.

6)      Pour the batter into the loaf pan or divide evenly between 6 mini loaves. Bake for 45-50 mins (loaf) or 30-35 (mini loaf).

7)      Let cool for 20 mins in tin before removing. When completely cool, spread 2- 3 tbsp of warmed blackberry jam over the top or divide amongst 6 mini loaves. Jam layer should be substantial and thick!

14 Comments

Filed under Breakfast, Cakes, Fruit, Recipes

14 responses to “The Bee’s Knees

  1. I have never bake a cake with GF flour, will look for it and try this soon. Thanks for sharing.

  2. Oh sinfully decadent! I love Friday evenings and Saturday mornings! :)

  3. i absolutely love the weekends – if only they could be a bit longer! and lol to 5 books in 2 weeks, that sounds awfully like me :)

  4. Ahh a GF cake! So many people I know are GF too so this would be perfect when I have someone over that is GF (and aren’t all Saturday mornings a bit better with a sleep in :) )

  5. Honey cake with blackberry jam–this is seriously a perfect breakfast for the first weekend of Spring over here in France. I’ll be baking something this afternoon for sure!

  6. Cake, honey, peanut butter, jam? The perfect breakfast!

    Enjoy your weekend!

  7. My body kindly wakes me up far too early on weekends too. Why is it that during the week when you wake up you’re desperate for more sleep but on the weekends when you’re desperate to get BACK to sleep you are somehow wide awake? If I had some of this honey cake to greet me in the morning I’d never have trouble getting out of bed (as long as the cake wasn’t within arms reach from bed) :)

  8. Peanut butter can’t destroy anything. It can only make things better. I promise.

    This cake looks fantastic! So so moist. I’ve heard so many good things about this cookbook lately…going to amazon to bookmark it!

    I went to a bookstore this weekend too. And I don’t really want to talk about it. Let’s just say i walked away with five books as well, three cookbooks, two fiction. I have a problem. A serious problem.

  9. Wow, your mom actually suggested the extra peanut butter layer, i’m truly surprised. LOL, if it were any mom (mine in particular), i would be told to cut down the honey and fat content by 70%… extra layers of jam and peanut butter would be preposterous. Must be nice to enjoy a nice slice of cake and a cup of tea with a mom that is equally appreciative of good desserts!

  10. What a scrumptious cake to make your weekend more enjoyable. I love the peanut butter, jam and honey flavors. Positively delicious!

  11. I hope your weekend bought a smile to your face. I know your post brought a smile to mine.

  12. hi vicky
    I love blackberry jam !! thanks for this recipe !! all the best !! Pierre in Paris

  13. This looks incredible- book marking!

Leave a Reply

