Redred Velvet

Can I share a secret with you?

I’m in love with Rose Levy Beranbaum. I think she’s the greatest cookbook writer ever! Ok, enormous claim to make since I also feel similarly about Nigel Slater and Carole Bloom. And I’m slowly developing feelings for Donna Hay and Hugh Fearnley-Whittingstall.

I have also secretly been wanting Rose’s new book- Rose’s Heavenly Cakes. Really, that’s two secrets in one! LUCKY YOU. And when I finally bought it this Sunday, let’s say the addition of glossy, coloured photos could only lift my happy feelings to lofty heights, and make the itch to bake, well, itchier.

For my first cake from her deliciously thoroughly written book, I made ROSE RED VELVET CAKE. Red velvet may not be popular around here, it really is quite unique to America, but it’s delicious. I just wish people know what it tasted like because it’s hard to describe.

The Boy: How does it taste like?
Me: Hmm, it’s red. It’s slightly cocoa-y. Oh and I love the frosting. And it’s red.
The Boy: It tastes red? Oh cocoa. Like chocolate?
Me: No, not quite chocolatey.

It’s a sweet RED cake that features a tinge of cocoa that adds dimension. But trust me when I say you’ll understand how something can “taste” red. I didn’t use Rose’s Dreamy Creamy White Frosting because I was craving vanilla frosting so I made a batch of vanilla- white chocolate Swiss meringue buttercream (feel free to omit the white chocolate, I get lazy like that sometimes)

Rose Red Velvet Cake (Adapted gluten free by Sweets by Vicky)

3 large egg whites (90g)
1 tbsp red food gel (Rose suggests 1 bottle of normal colouring)
1 tsp vanilla extract
2 cups – 2tbsp GF flour
3/4 cup caster sugar
3 tsp baking powder
2 tbsp cocoa powder (I used dutch-process)
pinch of salt
1/3 cup canola oil
1/2 cup + 2 tbsp buttermilk

1) Preheat the oven to 180 degreesC, fanforced. Grease and line 2 x 6 inch round baking tins or one 9 inch round cake tin.

2) In a large bowl, sift the flour, cocoa powder, baking powder, salt together.

3) In the bowl of a kitchenaid, whisk the eggs whites until foamy (bubbles should be quite dense). Add in the sugar and whisk for another 30 seconds on low. Add in the oil and whisk to combine (15 seconds)

4) Add the vanilla and red food gel to the liquid mix. Add in the flour mix and buttermilk alternately, starting and ending with the flour mix. Beat for 30 seconds after each addition. Don’t forget to scrape down the bowl!

5) Divide the mixture equally between the 2 pans (or the 1) and bake for 25-30 minutes or untile a skewer inserted comes out clean.

6) Let the cake cool in the pan on a wire rack for 10 minutes before loosening the edges and inverting. Invert back upright and cool completely.

7) Once cool, trim the tops with a serrated knife and keep the scraps. Frost between the layers and over the cake with Swiss Meringue Buttercream

Cake keeps best in the fridge for 3 days, in an airtight container. Let cake come to room temperature before serving as hard buttercream is kinda…gross. NOM NOM NOM!

17 Comments

Filed under Cakes, Chocolate, Frostings, Recipes

17 responses to “Redred Velvet

  1. Oh gosh. I wasn’t hungry before I read this and now I’m just dying for a huge slice of cake! Do you make your buttercream with a stand or hand-held mixer? I’ve never tried swiss meringue simply because everyone says it’s impossible with a hand-held mixer!

    • vicvickvicky

      Hi Lucie,

      I use a stand mixer for my SMBC but I’ve done it successfully by hand before so I’m sure with a hand-held mixer, you should be fine! It requires alot more effort though. GOOODLUCK!:)

  2. Rose Beranbaum is the queen of cakes, no doubt about it. Even my favorite dessert author (Maida Heatter) says she is the best!
    Love this cake. Have been meaning to try red velvet cake for a long time.

  3. I think you just passed the itch onto me… must have a slice of red velvet, NOW! The red crumbs sprinkled on top is killing me even more… i wish i didnt have books to read and could head directly to the oven right now :( But oh how i love this post, the pictures just cheer me up. God bless the red velvet!

    And it’s interesting how I never thought about how i would explain the taste of red velvet to someone. But I guess your description is as good as it gets… they really need to taste “the red” to understand.

  4. I have Rose’s ‘Cake Bible’ – she really is the queen of cake! This one is gorgeous! Love the way you decorated it – so pretty.

  5. I agree about red velvet, it’s so unique and gorgeous! We had it for our wedding cake a few years ago and it was really hard to find someone to make it. They had no idea what we were talking about! :o

  6. The addition of white chocolate sounds wonderful. Gorgeous cake! Love the contrasting colors.

  7. One of my cravings! I am so glad to finally find another red velvet cake lover :-)

    Photo is so luscious and tempting, as usual!

    Sawadee from Bangkok,
    Kris

  8. after reading your post, i went into the bookshop today to check out the book – it’s absolutely gorgeous and now i’m very tempted to get a copy for myself :) anyway, the cake you baked looks yum!

  9. Oh yes I love Rose’e recipes…always fantastic. Ive made quite a number of her cakes and I have her cake bible book….my secret weapon…the red velvet looks heavenly! :) tq for dropping by.

  10. frankly, that much red food coloring frightens me. i love the taste of this cake, so when i do make it, i use gel like you. it’s gorgeous, though, one can’t deny that!

  11. meimei

    I WANTTTTTTTTTTTT T.T and omg i realise i can view blogs here … LOLLOL.

  12. sling

    I WANT RED VELVET VICCCCCCCK NOMNOMNOM

  13. Secret – I have been dying for this cookbook as well.

    Not so secret – I LOVE red velvet cake. This looks so moist and amazing. Great color! I think I’m in love.

  14. Oh, yum yum delicious! I love that picture where the frosting is slightly oozy. The cake looks heavenly. Rose would approve.

    That book is on my wish list, too. It’s beeoooootiful.

  15. i have not made red velvet cake before – ive seen it so many times it looks great! i might make mine with cream cheese frosting :O)

Leave a Reply

