We’re All Mad Here

This isn’t a post about Alice in Wonderland, but I do feel slightly mad. Angry kind of mad, and confused, spiral-eyed kind of mad.

And it’s all the fault of this friand recipe I posted awhile ago. I’ve made it 3 times after my first attempt and none, absolutely none, have turned out the same way it did. Beginner’s luck? Or maybe I should try again tomorrow, this time making sure to use LARGE eggwhites. I keep getting these weird raised parts on the underside of the friand, signs that I may have overmixed it. So I made sure to keep a light hand, but no luck. Maybe the friand fairies weren’t on my side…for my past 3 attempts.

No friand, you will not defeat me!

So as I stared, quite confused, at my odd, dryish, weird bottomed friands, I mindlessly picked at these two-toned, confused-as-well cookies. They couldn’t decide if they wanted to be nutella or plain. If I were a cookie, I’d be confused too.

The cookies were based loosely on Alton Brown’s The Chewy. While I was expecting thick, sturdy, chewy cookies, Mine came out…candy-like, flat, chewy (for parts that weren’t too flat) but in an odd way, quite addictive. I’m highly certain it wasn’t meant to turn out this way, but a yummy cookie is a yummy cookie. The exterior is crisp, almost sugary-candy-like. It doesn’t hold well (crumbly) so I advise that you keep the cookies on the small side. Mine spread ALOT, reaching it’s greedy cookie-batter arms out to it’s neighbours. So, don’t bake them too close to each other. Or perhaps you could be more patient and chill them for a longer time.

Mad Cookie (inspired by Alton Brown’s The Chewy)

1 stick of butter, melted
1/4 cup cornstarch
3/4 cup GF Flour blend
1/2 tsp baking soda
2 tbsp caster sugar
1/3 cup brown sugar
1/2 egg
1/2 egg yolk
1 tbsp milk
1 tsp vanilla
1 cup semisweet chocolate chips
1/4 cup walnuts, chopped roughly
3 tbsp nutella

1)      Heat oven to 375 degrees F.

2)      Sift together the flour, salt, and baking soda and set aside.

3)      Pour the melted butter in the bowl of a Kitchenaid. Add the sugar and brown sugar. Cream the butter and sugars on medium speed. Add the egg, yolk, 1 tablespoon milk and vanilla extract and mix until well combined. Slowly incorporate the flour mixture until thoroughly combined. Stir in the chocolate chips.

4)      Remove half the batter, and place in a separate bowl. Add in the nutella and combine thoroughly.

5)      For the remaining half of the batter, add the chopped walnuts and mix well.

6)      Chill the dough (at least 1 hr), then scoop onto parchment-lined baking sheets. Place half a tbsp of the nutella batter next to another half tbsp of walnut batter so they are ‘joined’ together. Bake 6 cookies per sheet. Bake for 14 minutes or until golden brown, checking the cookies after 5 minutes. Rotate the baking sheet for even browning. Cool completely and store in an airtight container.

If you’re after something lightly different and don’t care too much about looks but more for your eating pleasure, try them out!

12 Comments

Filed under Chocolate, Cookies, Recipes

12 responses to “We’re All Mad Here

  1. Oh my! Those cookies look heavenly. Nutella, yum!

  2. Two faced cookies. Lovely!

    Damn cookie batter arms. Why must some cookies be so overly friendly with each other?

  3. Love your “mad” post! It happens to us all, although if the cookie was that good (and it looks it) perhaps you better make them the same way again! (If you can remember exactly what you did…I never can. So annoying,)
    I’m going to copy Alton’s recipe, try them, and see what happens to mine!

  4. oh wow! those look amazing!

  5. hehe I like the name: mad cookies!

  6. These sound really scrumptious! I find anything with Nutella irresistible. And I love the name!

  7. I just saw Alice in Wonderland yesterday so your use of the word mad definitely made me think of that movie!

    I wish I could help you out on the friand, but I’ve never made one before :(

    The cookies look fantastic. Nutella or vanilla? If I were a cookie, I would be confused.

  8. Whoaaa, i just came home from watching Alice in wonderland, what a coincidence! Sorry to hear that these were angry cookies instead of crazy ones, though :( Hope your 4th try on friands has better luck!
    I liked what i read when i saw “Chewy cookies”…they’re the way to go! Then i continued on and there was another spark of interest when you mentioned that they spread ALOT! Those are my 2 favorite cookie combinations: chewy, and flat… like Subway Cookies! I hope the effects are the same if i make them with wheat flour, cuz i’m gonna try this soon!

  9. i’m all-too-familiar with the frustration of acing something on the first go-round, never to have future batches live up to its glory. it stinks!
    these cookies are awesome–i have a small obsession with nutella that’d result in the rapid disappearance of these babies. :)

  10. Love that you named them Mad Cookies! It makes me mad when my cookies touch their neighbors too!

  11. your cookies do look a bit mad but yummy nonetheless. speaking of alice in wonderland, i’m actually reading it at the moment; figured it would be good to reread it before i see the movie :)

Leave a Reply

