Blueberry Mini Loaves

Say it with me.

Slowly.

Blueberry mini loaves…

With a smear of lemony creamcheese. It’s not the end yet.

And toasty walnuts.

Got your head around that? I just did, after my second mini loaf. I shouldn’t really be gushing, they are really just blueberry muffins in a different form. And the creamcheese? Just a little softened creamcheese, a spritz of lemon juice and a few tablespoons of icing sugar whisked together. As for the walnuts, I just had some walnut halves toasted in my mini oven. So, it’s just a dressier blueberry muffin, in mini loaf form. But here’s the big deal.

They’re gluten free. And while there may be a plethora of recipes for the perfect gluten free blueberry muffins, they just don’t remind me of Starbuck’s Signature Blueberry Muffins. I sound a little obsessed about Starbucks, it’s just a benchmark I use to indicate how much I love their muffins. I actually crave them. So it’s just exceptionally nice to have a GF version available to ME and the lucky people who live in the same house (haha!)

The muffins are sturdy, meaning they don’t fall apart but are also very tender and don’t have the typical GF flour aftertaste. Unfortunately, its one flaw is that the berries sunk to the bottom but I suppose it could be easily remedied with flour gently tosssed through the berries. I hope.

Gluten Free Signature Blueberry Muffins adapted from Carole Bloom’s The Essential Baker

1 3/4 cup GF flour blend
1/4 cup almond meal
1 tbsp baking powder
1 tsp vanilla extract
1 extra large egg
3/4 cup milk
1/4 cup heavy cream (or milk, if you’re so inclined)
1/4 cup caster sugar
1/4 cup brown sugar
1/3 cup canola oil
1 cup blueberries, tossed in 1 tbsp GF flour (from the 1 3/4c)

1) Preheat the oven to 180 degreesC. Grease 12 regular muffin tins.

2) In a big bowl, whisk the oil, milk, cream, eggs and vanilla together

3) In a medium bowl, mix the flour, almond meal, baking powder and sugars.

4) Tip the flour mix into the liquids and whisk until just combined. You do not want to overmix it, a few lumps are fine. You will start noticing that the baking powder will begin reacting if you take too long.

5) Divide the batter evenly amongst the tin. Divide the berries evenly between the muffin holes (they will sink as they bake, hopefully not right down to the bottom)

6) Bake for 20-25 minutes. (Mine were in mini loaf tins. I got 6 loaves and baked them for 30-32 minutes)

7) Spread with cream cheese frosting and lightly toasted walnuts.

Cream Cheese Frosting

150g softened cream cheese
juice of 1/4 lemon
1/4 c icing sugar, sifted

1) In a bowl, using a spatula, mix the cream cheese with the lemon juice until combined (you could probably use a standmixer).

2) Add in the icing sugar and using a whisk, whisk as hard as you can (so it’s light and fluffy). If not using immediately, store in refrigerator and bring to room temp before using.

19 Comments

Filed under Books, Cakes, Frostings, Fruit, Recipes

19 responses to “Blueberry Mini Loaves

  1. I love the texture of the walnuts on the top. That would be a delightful complement to the blueberry in the muffin. Not a huge fan of cream cheese frosting, but love how you have added lemon. Delicious!

  2. The cream cheese frosting puts this totally over the top for me! In a super good way!!!

  3. Mini loaves….? So, you get a whole loaf just for yourself? Excellent :D

    Look delicious!

  4. Mmm yes I will say it after you and then follow you around until I get to try some! :P This looks wonderful! :D

  5. i do miss seeing starbucks around in sydney! I don’t even know if there’s any branches left.

    and well, not only is this loaf gluten free, it’s also good for your brain :) i remember when i was younger, my parents would always tell me to eat more walnuts as they’re meant to be good for your brain i.e. make me smarter.

  6. This is such a great recipe. I have a friend who loves Gluten Free desserts. She will love this. It looks delicious.

  7. Gush away my dear. If I created a recipe as delicious as this looks, I’d be gushing too. I need to try out that lemony cream cheese spread. Seems like the perfect addition to these!

  8. uma

    walnuts n blueberry muffins.. what a combo! ….sure will be a hit..

  9. Wow, Vicky… this mini loaf looks so cute. Hmmm, I know about that delicious muffins at Starbucks. But, I think it’s better when you are able to make it yourself at home. You know exactly what in it. Love your frosting, it’s tempting!

  10. Lucie

    These make me want to bake gluten-free! I love almond meal for the taste and texture it gives baked goods. And the lemon cream cheese…mmm!

  11. Hi Vicky! Thanks for visiting my blog and leaving such a sweet comment. What you said really made my day! My first time visiting your blog and it’s wonderful. I never knew how much you could bake without gluten! Thank you for educating me on this and I can’t wait to visit you often and read your wonderful posts!

  12. I’m totally sold on these! I love everything about them especially the lemon cream cheese. So scrumptious with blueberries.

  13. Blueberries and lemon, a match made in heaven. they looks tasty.
    Mimi

  14. Oh. My. Gosh. That looks so, so delectable!!! Beautiful work, Vicky.

  15. There’s just something about mini loaves I love. You can freeze some too. I love that. Your blueberry loaf looks lovely with it’s walnut and cream cheese topping. That alone would make me want a bite of it!

  16. You had me a smear! Sounds heavenly!

  17. I am a fan of Starbucks too!! Love their chocolate cupcakes.

  18. bluberry muffins in a different form is still impressive, especially when it’s GF! I can’t help but remember baking GF crackers, they were so hard to handle. I can’t imagine how baking a muffin/cake would be, so KUDOS to you!

  19. for me it is eaten quicker than said !! cheers from Pierre in Paris

Leave a Reply

