Lemon Curd + Macarons Day 1

The past few days of festivity-filled goodness has led me to believe that my stomach has indeed expanded in order to increase Lunar New Year eating capacity. And I’m sure a few other friends out there will probably agree. And for those who still have their bouquets of roses (or whichever flower you prefer to love) sitting proudly on their tabletops, you probably have expanded tummies from the joy of indulging with your significant other (or mom).

But it’s okay, I suppose you can always make yourself feel better knowing that you have a whole 10 months to fit into that holiday dress/suit again before Christmas and New Year happily roll around in which case, signifies the starting of belly-upsizing. But don’t tell me you didn’t enjoy eating those goodies because I know, at the back of your head, you told yourself so quietly…I promise this is my last cookie…

Okay, I’ll stop making you feel guilty. In fact, I’ve got a yummy dairy-free lemon curd recipe to share today, which makes breakfast this much sunnier! And is a good deterrent to reaching for the jar of pineapple tarts that just needs to be finished. Plus, it’s really quite simple without having to worry about tempering egg yolks and that.

Gluten-Free, Dairy-Free Lemon Curd (adapted from Rebecca Reilly’s Gluten Free Baking)

8 egg yolks
3/4 cup sugar
Juice and grated zest of 3 lemons
3/4 stick dairy-free spread (I used Nuttelex), alternatively, use butter if you aren’t dairy intolerant

1) In a medium saucepan, whisk the yolks and sugar together. Do not ribbon the mixture because you do not want to incorporate too much air.

2) Whisk in the lemon juice and zest

3) Cut the dairy-free spread into small chunks and add.

4) Over medium heat, sirring constantly, cook until the dairy-free spread melts. Then, the curd will begin to thicken but not boil. The thin layer of foam (that forms while stirring) will disappear at the point when the curd is done.

5) Strain into a clean bowl and immediately place a piece of  plastic wrap over it, touching the surface to prevent bacteria from forming and a skin from developing.

6) Refridgerate until ready to use. Spoon dollops of it into greek yoghurt and sprinkle berries and nuts over! :)

And onto Day 1 of macaron making…I’m just like most of everyone else. No feet, peaked tops, yummy shells, ugly shells. So, I did some reading and realized I probably didn’t have my batter ‘satiny’ or ‘flowing like magma’ although I don’t quite know what magma flows like. But ‘dissolving ribbons’ seem more descriptive but again, I didn’t have that. Mine was too stiff (which I thought was a good thing) but I guess sponge cakes and macarons like their peaks different. DAY TWO on FRIDAY. Wish me luck. I really don’t want pointy conical-bra shaped macarons.

20 Comments

Filed under Fruit, Recipes

20 responses to “Lemon Curd + Macarons Day 1

  1. paperpen

    magma flows thick…. kinda like melted ice-cream but slightly even more thicker. =D (youtube it if you need hehe)

    melting ribbons? you’ve melted ribbons before?

  2. I kinda like the pointy-roon. And with lemon curd . . . yum.

  3. your macaroons look lovely, and i see the feet! I tried making macaroons before but, like my butter cream frosting, they failed miserably and i never got the courage to try again :( Please share your results on friday and enlighten me with some tips! Lemon curd looks yummy, btw! very sunny indeed.

  4. A wet finger before baking will make that point go away, however it does give your mac character. Your lemon curd looks perfect.
    Mimi

  5. Pam

    The lemon curd is calling my name.

  6. Your macarons still look good!! They aren’t flat and coaster like.
    I must try to make them again. You have inspired me =)

  7. lo

    It’s true. Those are some mighty fine looking macarons! And I’m lusting after that lemon curd. Makes me wish I had a few leftover egg yolks on hand…

  8. thanks for visiting my blog and your sweet comment!

    this post has inspired me to work on my macaroons again as well! love your photos and that cute plate! want it! i took a class last year with Jacquy Pfeiffer and posted my notes over macaroons from the class on my blog. here is the link if you want it: http://themuffintopshop.blogspot.com/2009/03/i-am-officially-finished-with-pastry.html. I am nowhere near a macaroon expert, but I thought his tips were really helpful.

  9. Hehe they’re so cute! And I would imagine giving it that point is infinitely harder than without the point! :D

  10. i find lemon curd to be a bit frightening, but that’s just because a little lemon flavor goes a looooong way with my palate. that said, it’s so versatile and can add so much to so many things, one must always have it on hand! great recipe, vicky. :)

  11. I’ve never made my own lemon curd, it looks lovely. I am sure it makes an awesome macaron filling!
    *kisses* HH

  12. Beautiful macaron, and love how yellow your lemon curd look.

  13. I’ve always wanted to make my own lemon curd – how scrumptious! And good luck with your macarons!

  14. Love the idea of putting lemon curd on yogurt! Good luck with your macs on Friday!

  15. I love your pretty plate!

  16. Good luck for Friday! Yep, I assume it just needs a little more mixing :)

  17. Oooh, that first pic of the lemon curd is pretty pretty! The way you styled it into a sunny yellow circle is just lovely.

  18. Macaroons, from what I can tell, are very fussy. These look like they taste delicious though!

    And lemon curd. Oh how I love lemon curd. Thanks for the recipe!

  19. Well, you may not be happy with your macarons but the rest of us seem to like them :) Anyway, who cares when you’ve got a batch of lemon curd to suck down on?

  20. Von

    This macaron looks really cute!
    I’ve never tried making lemon curd before- it sounds fun!

Leave a Reply

