Gluten Free, Starbucks Worthy

I woke up this morning to find that I had, again, been attacked by 7.30-body-clock-itis. Fun.

And so when I made my way to the kitchen, as I do,m even in zombie-like states, I realized I was in an upside down aquarium. At this point, I was quite ready to settle that this was a dream. But no, after a double blink, I found out that it was just me, in my pjs, standing under a ceiling my mom had so painstakingly decorated to evoke the Chinese New Year spirit. And my heart started to have a slight skip and my foggy mind, unfoggied. Today was the eve of CNY!

I suppose I’m so used to waking up dreading to find out what day it is that knowing we have four (I repeat, FOUR) days of food, family and firecracker-filled goodness makes me just euphoric. I mean, this is the day that I look forward to all year! And as you must have heard from everyone else, this year’s CNY falls on Valentine’s Day! BOOM!

Double happiness. You know why? If you have a date, then YAY, celebrate, If you have family dinners, then YAY, party! If you have no date, you have CNY, then YAY, you’re not alone. If you have no CNY, then YAY, you have V.day. If you have none then, go to a Chinese friend’s house, and eat their food. We love you eating our food, we have TOO MUCH!

The boy thinks my logic is funny, but hey, after watching Valentine’s Day (which was an awesome star-studded, big bowl mix of chick flicks and stereotypes I LOVE), Feb 14 does have some psychological effect on many! So it’s good this year that everyone can just celebrate CNY if you really don’t like this commercial ‘holiday’. (It’s not a holiday because we don’t really get a day off)

Okay, somebody shut my overexcited nerves down now!

Well, moving onto to the GF, Starbucks worthy chocolate chip muffins…

These are ugly. They’re one of those ugly-real-muffin-not-pretending-to-be-a-cupcake kind of thing. And that’s why I love it. They rise a substantial amount, and has a light crumb that most GF items really don’t have. I may go on to say that they might even be a little dry and it’s probably from the cocoa powder since it does a good lot of liquid-absorbing. So my thought was to increase the liquids in the mix, but apparently it wasn’t enough so I’ve added in another 2 tbsp of oil in this recipe since I think it would benefit from it. Don’t worry, these muffins are big-ish and don’t have frosting (duh! It’s a muffin) so…it’s definitely still less fattening which can only really mean one thing…CHOCOLATE FOR BREAKFAST!

Vicky’s Gluten-Free, Starbucks Worthy Choc Muffins

1 3/4cup GF flour blend
1/4 cup cocoa (I used dutch-processed)
1 tbsp baking powder
1/2 tsp baking soda
1/2 tsp xantham gum
2/3 cup sugar
1/2 cup + 2 tbsp chocolate milk (normal/ dairy-free milk should be fine too)
1/2 cup + 2 tbsp canola oil
2 large eggs
1 cup 55% chocolate chips & white chocolate chips, mixed

1) Preheat oven to 170 degreesC, fan-forced. Lightly spray a non-stick muffin tin with veg-oil spray

2) In a large bowl, sift the flour, cocoa, baking soda, baking powder and xantham gum together. Give it a stir. Mix in sugar.

3) In a medium bowl, blend the milk and oil together until emulsified. Add in the  eggs and give it a good mix.,

4) Add the wet ingredients into the dry. Mixture will be stiiicckkyyy but not so much that you can’t stir it properly. Then toss in the chocolate chips and mix.

5) Distribute the mixture evenly between the muffin cups (I wanted mine big, breakfast like so I only had 11 muffins)

6) Bake for 20-25 minutes, or until a skewer inserted comes out clean.

ADDITIONAL INFO: You may, so accidentally, pour in a little more choc chips (oops!)

15 Comments

Filed under Chocolate, Recipes

15 responses to “Gluten Free, Starbucks Worthy

  1. El

    They sound delicious – thanks for sharing. Just out of curiosity, why do you use the xanathan gum?

    • vicvickvicky

      Hey there!

      The xantham gum adds a little bit of stretch which the gluten used to provide but I’ve found that most recipes work perfectly fine without it. :)

  2. Nice recipe! There’s nothing wrong with chocolate for breakfast. You just have to balance it out with caramel for lunch and bacon for dinner.

  3. Happy Chinese New Year! We had our dinner tonight and I’m so full! :P

  4. lol, love the logic, it makes total sense :D Hope you have a great cny AND valentines! Are you serving these muffins for dinner as well?

  5. Lovely muffins! I bet they taste wonderful.

    Happy Valentine’s Day!

    Cheers,

    Rosa

  6. happy chinese new year/valentine’s day! question for you- where do you get xanthum gum? i’m keen to give this recipe a go :)

  7. i firmly believe that nothing containing chocolate can be considered ugly. therefore, i find your muffins gorgeous. and although i’m not accident-prone, i find that i often slip up and add extra chocolate to many recipes. :)

  8. Thanks for stopping by. Just sent your URL to a friend whom I’m sure will love it.

  9. Happy Valentine’s Day and Prosperous Lunar New Year!

    This muffin looks tasty! Delightful!!

    Sawadee from Bangkok,
    Kris

  10. I’m right there with you – chocolate for breakfast!!!

  11. I like the way you wrote about the CN and V, I reread it again this morning and found it very true and agreeable.

    Hope you have had a wonderful CN and V, or either one of them….. but I am sure you have celebrated both anyway :-)

    Sawadee from Bangkok,
    Kris

  12. And chocolate for breakfast can only be a good thing, right? ;)

  13. I’ve never tried gluten-free baking, but I just discovered your blog and I love it! You make all the recipes seem so simple, and when simple equals huge chocolate muffins I can’t say no!

  14. Pingback: Blueberry Mini Loaves « Gluten Free: Sweets At Vicky's

Leave a Reply

