Lemon Squares

Recently I discovered a problem with me. And I’m proud to say that I’m probably not the only one. I’m sure that even as I’m typing this, someone is guilty of commiting this ‘problem’. And how can anyone blame you? It’s not your fault that you don’t always have fresh nutmeg to grate or vanilla sugar you so dutifully prepare every time you have a vanilla pod just…lying around. So what do we do? We improvise, and change, and sometimes, invent.

But you see, the big problem with that, my friend, is that I don’t really know how a recipe from my stash of cookbooks is really supposed to taste like. And that, is a problem. How can I tell if this is the best possible way to do something if I don’t know the original way it’s supposed to be done! So I decided, I shall follow a recipe for once, just this once, and see how it turns out. Okay, so I cheated and used a book I had utmost faith in, but I just couldn’t bear the thought of something horrid coming out of the oven.

I made Rebecca Reilly’s Lemon Squares from her Gluten Free Baking book. The squares were really, and I mean really simple to make. And quick and most importantly, absolutely tasty. The shortcrust bottom is not to thick or dense, but doesn’t crumble too easily, a fault many GF cookie bases suffer from. The lemony filling? Slightly sticky, sour and easy to cut through and impossible to mess up.

Gluten Free Lemon Squares from here

2 c GF flour blend
1/2 c almond meal/hazelnut meal
1 stick of butter, diced and kept in the freezer for 5 minutes
1/3 cup icing sugar
1/4 tsp xantham gum
1/8 tsp salt

1) Preheat the oven to 175degreesC. Lightly grease a 13 x 9inch baking pan for thin bars or an 8inch square pan for thicker bars. Line the pan with buttered parchment paper.(I didn’t do this because my pan was non-stick)

2) To make the crust, mix together the gluten-free mix, almong flour, icing sugar, xantham gum and salt. Using your fingertips, work the butter into the dry ingredients. Do not overmix. You want to have a crumbly texture. (To test if it was ‘wet’ enough, I lightly squeeze the crumbs to see if they would form a dough) Press the mixture ino the prepared pan and bake for 20 mins of under slightly golden brown. (Mine ended up slightly undercooked so I recommend baking it for a little longer, maybe 23 mins)

Filling

3 eggs
1 1/2 c granulated sugar
1/3 c fresh lemon juice

1) To make the filling, beat the eggs and sugar together. Add in the lemon juice and whisk.

2) Pour the filling over the hot crust. Return to oven and bake for another 20 mins. The edges will begin to brown. Cool before dusting with more icing sugar. Cut into about 2inch squares.

18 Comments

Filed under Bars, Books, Fruit, Recipes

18 responses to “Lemon Squares

  1. too often than not i’m improvising in the kitchen with what i have to save myself a trip to the supermarket! so i’m just like you :) otherwise, thanks for your comment on my blog – glad you popped by so I can find your blog over here :)

  2. This looks awesome! I too am, guilty of fiddling, sometimes too much I admit! :P

  3. I confess. I adore lemon anything and the tarter the better. Gorgeous lemon squares!
    I don’t do much fiddling except with old family recipes…they need revising. But after that, I pretty much follow a recipe and when I’m done- that’s when I decide if I want to change anything the next time!

  4. lemon squares are one of my all time favorites!

  5. Oh my, lemons and almonds and butter, oh my! LOVE lemon bars, these look sensational!

  6. I love them too! Yours look wonderful!

    Cheers,

    Rosa

  7. Yum! I try to experiment with baked goods, sometimes with no luck. I find it a lot easier experimenting with savoury.

  8. OHHH yum! I love ALL lemon desserts. Lemon bars were ranked as my top must-buy bake-sale items in high school. I love how simple your filling is, the recipes i used to use required cornflour and it never quite got there. I’ll try this one next time!

  9. so glad you used the recipe and have shared it with us! They look like lovely lemony nibbles. Anything lemon I find hard to stop eating (my lemon curd always goes so quick!). Beautiful :) And oh i must find some hazelnut meal. I’ve never had any of that before.

  10. I always try to follow the recipe the first time I make something, but sometimes you just know it needs to be changed right away.
    Your lemon bars look delicious.
    Mmimi

  11. I think I heart lemon squares too, after reading this :)

  12. Sometimes one just knows by reading a recipe if it will turn out well. Good job on the squares :)

  13. Yum! I know someone who will enjoy these!

  14. Pam

    I love, love, love lemon bars – yours look tasty.

  15. One can never go wrong with a lemon bar.
    Delicious!

  16. Mmm I adore lemon, these are just my kind of thing! Who can resist a lemon bar? Delicious.

  17. Delicious. I love a zesty, puckery lemon slice. So great the base of your GF version worked out well.

Leave a Reply

