Quinoa with Leeks, Mushrooms & Spinach

Would you get mad at me if I told you that today I’ve got a savoury recipe to share? I really wanted to post something sweet, I mean, this is a blog about gluten free sweets. But I think after the cupcake and frosting rush of the past week, I’m  ready to have something besides cupcakes for dinner.

Here’s a funny story about quinoa. A few years back, when I first moved to Melbourne with my sister, she got into the whole naturopath thing. It was mainly due to a bad case of skin reactions so her naturopath advised that she stay away for gluten just for awhile. So she proudly came home one evening armed with bags of ‘new’ groceries, including goji juice and a bag of quinoa. And while I normally did the cooking, that evening, she was going to prepare quinoa with gluten free herb sausages. Sounded good enough until it didn’t smell too well. Alarmed by the smell permeating through the walls, into my room, I went into the kitchen only to find the rice cooker lined with burnt quinoa ‘seeds’. Luckily, we managed to save enough to make up dinner!

So that’s the story of how quinoa was introduced to me. This version is much easier, no burnt bottom cookers to scrub til your arms fall out.

Sweets by Vicky’s Quinoa with Leeks, Mushrooms & Spinach (serves 2 for a light meal)

1/2 c uncooked quinoa
1 clove of garlic, minced
1 onion, diced into small pieces
1/2 c water
1 leek, washed and sliced thinly on a diagonal
150g brown mushrooms, washed and sliced thinly
1 c baby spinach leaves
salt, pepper

1) In a medium pot, add 1 tbsp of olive oil and cook the garlic and onion until fragrant and lightly browned
2) Add in the water, cover and bring to a bowl
3) Add in the quinoa and cook, uncovered until all the water has evaporated and you can see the tiny spiral in the quinoa (about 10-15 mins)
4) Take off the heat and set aside.
5) In a pan, heat 1 tbsp of olive oil and stir fry the leeks and mushrooms until tender and cooked through. It is best to refrain from stirring the mushrooms too much as they take longer to cook.
6) Once done, add in the quinoa, toss through, add salt and pepper to taste.
7) While still warm, pop in the spinach and stir to distribute the heat. The leaves will wilt slightly.
8) I felt like having this with a crumbling of feta or a handful of toasted walnuts but I got lazy. And the smell overwhelmed me so I just…ate it!

And look what I got?


AWWW, I’m lovely, that’s what Anna of Diary of a Ladybird thinks anyway! And I get to pass on the love! The rules are I get to pass this award to 5 new blogs I’ve recently fallen in love with. Oh well, here goes!

1) Y of Lemonpi
2) Pete of Pete Bakes!
3) Angie of Anjelikuh
4) Shelly of Cookies and Cups
5) Tia of Buttercream Barbie
6) Shauna of Piece of Cake
7) Deeba of Passionate about Baking
8) Merisi of Vienna for Beginners

Okay guys! Now you get the honour of spreading the blog love to 8 recently discovered blog! :) And just drop them an email to let them know

QUESTION: Can someone please tell me why my photos are always kinda blurry when I upload them onto wordpress? They look fine when I preview them in windows…

14 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

14 responses to “Quinoa with Leeks, Mushrooms & Spinach

  1. Hehe I have to admit I did a double take hwen I saw a savoury recipe here! :P It looks great though and I have some quinoa that I’m just dying to use!

  2. Thank you, Vicky,
    I appreciate that you mention that little bloggie of mine!

    As regards your pictures, they look fine on my screen, enbiggiating makes them look even better, no blurs in either versions!

    Btw, those cupcakes I made from your Orange Marmelade cake recipe of yours were still juicy and maybe even tastier two days later! Thank you again for that great recipe (and I realized only later that even with the 200g of ground almonds added, it was still gluten free!). Next time I may add 3-4 whole almonds at the bottom of the muffin tin!

  3. Awwww, thanks vic! I was having a pretty stressful day with exams coming up but this award turned that around *sniff* :D

    It’s great seeing a savory update on here! Helps me clear out the sugarload. And to tell you the truth, i had to wikipedia Quinoa after seeing this recipe cuz i had no idea what they are. I’ve heard of them before but never got around to find out what they taste like. I think this just stirred up my curiosity even more. Will try out quinoa sometime soon!

  4. I just bought a huge bag of quinoa at Costco and need a great recipe. This looks like a yummy and easy one!

  5. This looks like a great dish, and very healthy too. Congrats on your award daaaaaaahling.
    *kisses* HH

  6. Hi Vickie!

    Thanks for stopping by Cookie Madness today and commenting on my Rocky Road testing. I’m glad someone appreciates my hard work. LOL.

    About quinoa, I’ve tried to learn to like it since it’s so healthy, but to me it tastes like okra (which I don’t like). My daughter likes it, though.

  7. So healthy and delicious! I heart spinach :)

  8. Don’t mind the savoury post at all. Especially when this one is unique and delish :-)

    Sawadee from Bangkok,
    Kris

  9. I’ve seen several quinoa recipes lately, but love the savory mushroom one. Everything healthy and it looks great too.
    I like the savory posts!

  10. savory recipes aren’t allowed! :)
    although mushrooms don’t tickle my fancy, i do love quinoa (preferably not burnt). great story and wonderful recipe!

  11. Vicky! I JUST bought some quinoa for the first time ever. At the girl’s night one of my girl’s made a quinoa salad dish and it was sooo great! I plan on making it and sharing it on my blog too!! =)

  12. Oh ~ Thank you so much for the sweet award! These always mean so much to me!
    I love your site and so glad that I have found it :)

  13. Oh, yum! I’ve cooked with quinoa once before, after first discovering it, but the recipe wasn’t very flavoursome so I kind of gave up on quinoa. I think I need to give it another go, and this recipe looks great. I love leeks, I wonder if I was Welsh in a past life :D

  14. Yum! I’m bookmarking this for later, when my leeks are ready to come out of the garden!

Leave a Reply

