Sticky Marmalade Loaf

I had a conversation with a colleague a few days back about a very personal topic. Sometimes I feel like you can really tell a person by their responses to this particular question. A simple ‘whatever’ makes me shudder, as if they have no regard for their well-being while a really specific response, which might come across just slightly too strongly makes me take a step back, like ‘whoa, I ain’t gonna mess with ya’ and then there are those who seem so carefree in their answers, who break out in a slight smile at the very thought of contemplating what would their answer be…

Well, this colleague of mine was the sort that you knew right away, would find happiness in a great cup of coffee, appreciate a good joke and offered a smile, along with more-than-a-one-word-answer.

Oh, by the way, we were talking about what we like on our toast. She said marmalade. And it started a whirlwind of a craving.

Here’s a gorgeous, moist, not too sweet, very tender loaf brought to new lofty heights with a sugar glaze that becomes crispy as it sits and almost makes you want to eat the entire top of the loaf first.What can I say? Nigel Slater = love!

Gluten Free Sticky Marmalade Loaf (inspired by my colleague & Nigel Slater)

1/4 cup + 2tbsp vegetable oil
1/4 cup + 1tbsp yoghurt (I only had non-fat)
120g brown sugar
a large orange
3 large eggs
75g orange marmalade
1.5 cups GF flour blend
2 tsp baking powder

1) Preheat oven to 180degreesC, grease a loaf tin (25 x 11 cm and 7 cm deep)
2) In the bowl of a kitchenaid, Beat the eggs and brown sugar together until double in volume (pale and fluffy)
3) Grate the rind of the orange and juice half the orange, reserve the other half
4) Sift the flour and baking powder together
5) Once the eggs are fluffy, add in the flour mix and combine using the paddle attachment.
6) Add in the yoghurt, rind and juice. Mix well, careful not to overmix (which can aerate the batter too much and cause it to fall while baking)
7) Finally, add in the marmalade and blend well.
8) Pour into the prepared loaf tin and smooth the top. Bake for 35-40 minutes or until a skewer inserted comes out clean.
9) Leave to cool in the tin for 5 minutes before removing and cooling completely on a wire rack.

Crisp Sugar Frosting

100g icing sugar
3-4 tbsp orange juice

1) In a bowl, mix the icing sugar and 3 tbsp of the juice until smooth. If the frosting is very thick, add in more juice, a teaspoon at a time until slightly runny.
2) You can drizzle it over the loaf a la free style, or use a brush and ‘paint’ on the frosting. This way, you can control where the ‘trickle down the side’ action happens, well, sort of. :)

Enough for 8 or 6 hungry folks or 1 greedy girl.

19 Comments

Filed under Cakes, Fruit, Inspired, Recipes

19 responses to “Sticky Marmalade Loaf

  1. Divine daaaaaaahling, looks fab. I blogged a very similar recipe several months ago. I just love orange flavour.
    *kisses* HH

  2. g2-ef9274143fb528511edca6d915eb27a7

    I love marmalade in cake – it’s a relatively recent discovery for me.
    I like detailed answers. People who are short on answers strike me as uncaring and antisocial!

  3. I’m imagining this gorgeous loaf with a cup of tea and wishing I had some right now! I know what you mean about finding out a lot about someone by asking them a certain question…food-related questions are definitely the most interesting! ;)

  4. Your description made my mouth water! It’s a beautiful cake and the orange flavor sounds so scrumptious!

  5. This is a must-have for my tea break. Looks delicious and easy-to-follow recipe.

    And your friend’s answer of marmalade is so hitting on the point. What else could be better than that right? :-)

    Sawadee from Bangkok,
    Kris

  6. How brilliant! I love the idea of this cake. And ugh yes those “whatever” replies are so annoying! I can’t think of a better way to bring a conversation to a crashing end :P

  7. oooh, that sounds gooooooood!
    I would be that one greedy girl ;)

  8. This is one loaf I love; it’s gorgeous!! …And yes, *head nodding* about people and responses! I’m totally with you, and greedy too!

  9. I adore marmalade! This cake sounds so good!

  10. Here I sit, holding on with all my might to the bowl of healthy soup I have for dinner. Will there be time and energy left to whip up your delicious looking-sounding cake?

  11. I also love food discussions that takes your mind on a trip through all the potential creations you want to make–I can daydream about that forever! The marmalade cake looks yummmm, i can taste the orange just by looking through the recipe.

  12. This sounds like a quick bread I could fall in love with!

  13. Mmmm marmalade cake, sounds divine!

  14. Vicky,
    I am sitting here and taking sweet mouthfuls of an almond-red currant-orange muffin inspired by your recipe!

    I have been trying all morning to install an external hard drive to automatically safe a copy of all the pictures I load onto my Mac and desperately needed a break because I am not succeeding. :-(

    I decided to attempt to bake muffins, using your recipe, with one minor change:
    I used only half a cup of flour (spelt), but added 200grams of almond flour instead.
    I greased the muffin pan with butter and added a little brown sugar at the bottom, turning the pan until the sides were covered too, about halfway up. Adding batter up to a third of the height, I topped the batter with frozen currants (from my mother’s garden) and then the rest of the batter. I had preheated to oven to 200°C, but immediately lowered the temp to 180° after I put the pan in the oven. After 10 minutes I lowered the temperature again, to 170°C, for 25 more min (35 min in all).

    Thank you for the inspiration! I especially liked the fact that you used oil and yogurt. Oh so good, wished I could hand you a muffin!

  15. YUM, these look delicious! BTW, just wanted to let you know that I included you on my Favorites to Follow post today! =)

  16. Hi Vicky :) Couldn’t find an email on your blog, so just wanted to let you know you’ve won an award. Stop by my blog to pick it up some time.

    Anna x

  17. This cake looks divine and probably turns out very moist. Good job : )

    I love your blog, by the way.

  18. I love the sound and the look of this. Citrus and cake and then you throw in the word sticky and I’m sold.

    When I first glanced at the recipe I thought you had written “Inspired by my colleague Nigel Slater”. And I got VERY excited and more than a little bit jealous :)

Leave a Reply

