Linzer Love

Spending my Sunday running around with my mom, gathering the necessities for the farmer’s market is tiring business, and also an eye opener. Doing a business is hardhard work, tough, manual labour, cost-calculating chaos, stress-filled but a tiny bit exciting. Okay, alot exciting!

But luckily, I managed to squeeze in some baking! And now, at 9.30pm, the house smells like cinnamon, orange and butter. Today I’ll pretend I’m in Austria, eating Linzer cookies and drinking a nice cup of tea.

The cookies itself are yummy, I followed a recipe from Kate Demasco’s ‘The Art of Baking’. She used butterfly cutters for them, how could I resist? Obviously I was going to go all out, my heart cutter, gingerbread men, rocking horse, butterfly…Yea right! Singapore’s warm and humid, pastry making’s WORST friend. So I tried to roll them out, but I decided it was destined to fail so I made them into round balls and flattened them. Batch two was piped with a rosette tip. Unfortunately, they kinda ‘merged’ so they’re now a textured circles. :) At least it’s uniformly shaped!

I suppose a butterfly shaped Linzer cookie would’ve taste an inch better. But these cute round ones will do.

Almond Linzer Cookies (adapted from The Art of Baking)

1.5 cups almond meal (toasted in the oven for 5 mins, 180 degrees C, cool to room temp)
180g unsalted butter, softened
1 cup confectioners sugar, sifted + more for sprinkling
Finely grated zest of 1 orange
Finely grated zest of 1 lemon
3 large egg yolks
1 cup GF flour blend
1/4 cup cornstarch (make sure it’s GF)
2 tsp ground cinnamon
1 teaspoon baking powder
pinch of salt
1/4 cup fruit preserves (berry jam, peanut butter, choc ganache…)

1) Preheat oven to 180 degreesC. Line two baking sheets with parchment. Sift flours and baking powder
2) In the bowl of a kitchenaid (or big bowl), cream the butter and sugar until light and fluffy
3) Add in the egg yolks and mix thoroughly
4) Tip in the flour mix, cinnamon and the orange & lemon zest. Mix well
5) Add in the ground almonds and mix to blend.
6) IF USING COOKIE CUTTER: Place dough on a sheet of plastic wrap and chill for at least 30 mins. Roll out to 1/8 inch thick and cut into desired shapes. Preferably with a ‘hole’ in the middle so that the jam can be seen when sandwiched. Chill for 10 minutes before baking to retain i’s shape
7) IF, UNFORTUNATE LIKE ME, YOU HAVE TO PIPE IT: Place the dough in a piping bag with a rosette tip and pipe into ’rounds’. Chill for 10 minutes before baking.
8) Bake for 20-25 minutes. Remove from oven and let cool for 10 mins before removing from baking tray.
9) Find their matching pairs! And once completely cool, spread jam/ choc/ PB on one side and smack the other side on. *WARNING* The cookies will get ‘soft’ if they’re sandwiched. Alternatively, only spread fillings when ready to eat. Unless, of course, you love a good soft cookie.

Say Yum!

10 Comments

Filed under Books, Cookies, Recipes

10 responses to “Linzer Love

  1. Wow, it’s great to know that you’re pursuing what you love and even more wonderful with family there to support you. I sooo wish i could go participate in your farmer’s market sale! And i loove jam-filled cookies, butterfly-shaped or not, i’d devour them instantly.

  2. These cookies sound wonderful! Will you show us some pics of you at the Farmer’s Markets? I’d love to be able to read a behind the scenes view :D

  3. I love it when the room or house fills up with a beautiful baking smell. It’s so homely. These biscuits look perfect, quite similar to some I’ve seen at the shops.

  4. Those round ones will do very nicely, thank you. Pass the plate!
    Is there anything better than a linzer cookie? (Maybe a linzer torte?)

  5. Ohh they look great. As an exchange student in Germany a while ago, I took a weekend trip to Austria and I recall eating these wonderful cookies :) Mmm.. they must have smelt divine straight out of the oven!

  6. Cinnamon YUM!! baking is the best smell ever. I love it when the house smells like butter or chocolate cake :P

  7. Oh my goodness, heavenly!

  8. What a pretty and delicious cookies.

  9. As long as they still taste great! And believe me, I’ve baked much uglier things before =p

  10. Oh my I wish I had about 20 of these!

Leave a Reply

