Better Buttercream

Hi all!

It’s Saturday and I think I may be  suffering from slight lil-sister withdrawals- I can’t seem to fall asleep at night! My head feels quite fuzzy and exhaustion creeps up at roughly..3.30pm, daily.

But maybe it’s also because I’ve got other things on my mind. Guess who’s going to be at the Loewen Gardens First EVER Farmer’s market? *raises both hands* ME! me!

Jane, chef from The Pantry, is organizing this first ever historical event. Makes me feel THIS much closer to Melbourne already. Organic produce, gluten-free cakes (ahem), cooking demos, doesn’t it just make you feel all wholesome and warm? So today she’s arranged for me to bring some stuff for her to sample, plus she’s so kindly offered to get my baking confirmed as gluten-free. Can you tell how excited I am?

And today, I made one of the nicest swiss meringue buttercreams so I thought I’d share it! The perks of swiss buttercream is that is withstands the horrible heat we have here in Singapore and pipes much better. It’s lighter on the tongue but sometimes does have that waxy feeling. Today’s one didn’t have that and I would actually eat it.

Sweets By Vicky’s Swiss Meringue Buttercream

3/4c softened butter
2 egg whites
1/3c caster sugar
1/2 tsp vanilla extract
50g white couverture chocolate, melted to room temp.

1) In a metal bowl, place egg whites and sugar. Set it over a bain marie and whisk briskly until it reaches 50degreesC (all sugar granules should be dissolves and it should feel like a warm shower)
2) Remove from bain marie and whisk until stiff peaks form (this can be done in a kitchenaid) and bowl is cool to touch.
3) As it is whisking, lightly agitate the softened butter
4) Add butter into the stiff meringue in 3 additions, whisking very well after each addition. Buttercream WILL look curdled, but never fear! Just keep whisking, it will come together eventually.
5) Add in the vanilla and the melted chocolate. Whisk until smooth and fluffy.
6) Enjoy! :) Goes very nicely with lemon cupcakes.

15 Comments

Filed under Cakes, Frostings, Recipes

15 responses to “Better Buttercream

  1. Ahh yes swiss buttercream is divine isn’t it! Thanks for sharing your recipe :) Congratulations on your fantastic news too! :D

  2. LOL yes girl! who would’ve known we’d still have so much in common even in our 20s?! penpals forever <3 <3 !

  3. Congrats! What a terrific invite. Your buttercream looks gorgeous too – yum!

  4. Wow that buttercream looks heavenly! Thanks for sharing!!

  5. I love the piping – you’ve done an amazing job :)

  6. What a beautiful cupcake! Yum!

  7. Hi !!
    your photo is superb and the buttercream looks so scrumptious !!

    I am Pierre a french foodie who has a food blog dedicated to french créative cuisine ! come and vist my blog you are very welcome !! I hope you’ll like it
    cheers from Paris !! PIerre

  8. Pingback: More? « Sweets At Vicky's

  9. I have meant to make this buttercream since I have not been satisfied with the egg yold buttercream I always made for my cupcakes. This might work just great! Thanks, Vicky!!

    Sawadee from Bangkok,
    Kris

  10. Pingback: Roasted Banana Cupcakes for Hungry Monkeys « Sweets At Vicky's

  11. Kezia

    Hi Vicky, I’m from The Straits Times – we’re hoping to know more about the Farmers’ Market you mentioned? Could you pass me Chef Jane’s contact plse? Tried emailing but got no reply. Thanks!

  12. Pingback: Redred Velvet « Gluten Free: Sweets At Vicky's

  13. Pingback: Chocolate Fudge Sundae Cupcakes | Gluten Free: Sweets At Vicky's

  14. Pingback: Vanilla Bean & Nutella Cupcakes | Gluten Free: Sweets At Vicky's

  15. Pingback: Brainchild of Halloween | Gluten Free: Sweets At Vicky's

Leave a Reply

