Hey Girl, Drizzle Caramel

Drip, drip, driiippp down caramel, all over the toasty walnuts, down the sides of my banana cake.

Bliss.

Caramel has a reputation. That sweet deliciously buttery confection is known to give a sting. Especially when adding the cream to the amber sugar solution. And I got stung! Oh well, as they say, no pain no gain. Somehow the caramel tastes especially good when I have to nurse my right thumb.

Here’s the caramel sauce recipe from Dorie Greenspan. It was originally used to top her Caramel-Peanut topped Brownie Cake. I merely halved the recipe and used walnuts instead of peanuts.

I’m still waiting on the banana cake to pass the morning after test. The test is to make sure that the cake remains moist the next morning and not a crumbly, dry mess. Gluten free cakes are especially guilty of that. I’ll post the recipe if it’s worthy! J

Til then,

‘fo drizzle my nizzle caramel!

Photo from: http://www.scharlack.com/portfolio/images/caramel.jpg

2 Comments

Filed under Caramel

2 responses to “Hey Girl, Drizzle Caramel

  1. tia

    wow, did you make that caramel? it’s perfecT!!!

  2. Making caramel is so much fun too. I had a ball making these homemade caramel apples by Martha Stewart. Perfect for Halloween!
    http://michaelbeyer.wordpress.com/2010/10/10/classic-caramel-apples/

Leave a Reply

