Have a Pink Christmas


I think that part of getting inspiration for writing, baking, anything really, is to look at pretty things. So while reading one of my newly found loves, coco+kelley, I chanced upon these rings. They immediately made my day. I showed them to Fred just because I show him all things pretty, but he seemed less excited than I was. Boys. Note to men: Just pretend!

Anyway, back to the rings, don’t you think the ribbon one looks like something the little boy at the playground would have given the girl who always had the pretty flower in her hair? The little boy who wore the overalls and seemed to always have dirt somewhere around his knees? The boy who gave her the ring because he couldn’t reach the one his mommy has sitting on the top of her dresser? Yup, that one.

And, gross thing of the day…I think someone had a sh*t on the office toilet floor. No, seriously. It was very offputting. I don’t feel too good now. So I had to use the one on the other floor which is quite a bummer because I’ve always like the 7 floor toilet and now it’s image is ruined by THAT.

We had an office pizza lunch today because it was a colleague’s birthday. YAY! Unfortunately I don’t eat pizza (for health reasons-gluten…) but I couldn’t resist! So I had a slice, and ate the olives and pineapple. So yummy. Also, it was cookie-giving day after my 100 cookies last night. I had them individually packed, borrowed some gorgeous candy-bag tags from Creature Comforts and had fun with my new sealing machine! The things that make me happy.

Well, this calls for a celebration. Cookie-induced sugar coma. Mango bread anyone?


Dorie Greenspan’s Fresh Mango Bread (Half Recipe, 1 small loaf)

1.5 eggs
1/3 cup flavourless vegetable oil
1 ¼ cup GF flour blend
1/3-1/2cup brown sugar* *if your mango isn’t sweet, use the extra sugar)
½ tsp baking powder
½ tsp baking soda
½ tsp ground cinnamon
1 cup diced mango (about 1 large med mango)
1/3 cup plump raisins
*2-3 tbsp applesauce + 1 tbsp oil

1) Center a rack in the oven and preheat to 180 degrees celcius, fanforced
2) Grease a small loaf tin and line with baking paper
3) Whisk the eggs, oil and sugar together until very very light
4) In a large bowl, sift the flour, baking soda, baking powder and cinnamon together
5) Tip the flour mix into the liquid mixture, mix well *(Mine became VERY stiff and looked like a cookie dough instead. So I added in the extra applesauce and 1 tbsp of oil)
6) Add in the raisins, stir to mix
7) Tip in the mango and gently fold in. Mixture should be fairly thick but not like cookie dough
8) Bake for 40-45 minutes. After 30 minutes, you may wish to cover the loaf with a piece of aluminium foil to prevent over-browning.
9) Bake until a skewer inserted comes out clean!

2 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

2 responses to “Have a Pink Christmas

  1. Great idea and it’s mango season here so just the time to make this! :D

  2. Hi Vicky,
    Your mango bread looks delicious, I could eat a piece right now. Funny you think it would be nice to have snow in Singapore as here in Maine it is now 20F, we had a big snow storm again a couple of days ago and I am sitting here thinking I would like to be in Singapore basking in the sun and eating your mango bread!!

Leave a Reply

