Black & White met Girl

I have a tradition that was established when I fell ill last year. So I guess you can say it’s a pretty new tradition, but one which will prevail in time to come. People drink chicken soup to feel better, others laze in bed all day with their favourite teddy. My sister sleeps for hours on end and I, bake.

I know I bake on a regular basis, once every 3 days or so. But when I am sick, I bake once every 3 hours of so. Don’t worry, I remember to wash my hands, twice, just to be sure I’m clean. And I make sure I always have tissues handy. And, perhaps it’s the sugar, but I always end up feeling better than if I stayed in bed, nursing the virus that attacked.

Moving along…I’ve never had a Black and White cookie before. I guess it’s mainly due to the fact that we don’t have such a cookie here in Asia. Sure we have almond cookies, walnut cookies, five-spice cookies, nasi-lemak cookies but no black and white cookies.

So I decided to bake a Black and White cookie from Sherry Yard’s Desserts by the Yard. And while I have already had 7 of these (coughcough, sorethroat), I haven’t exactly HAD  a Black and White cookie YET because I tinted them pink. :) But the pink tint is all in the name of Breast Cancer Awareness! I’ll be bringing these cookies to Silver Moon Dragon’s Pink Ribbon event: Virtual Girls Night In! Do your part and head to her donations page to help out!

Back to the cookies…

According to Ms Yard, these cookies are suppose to take on a cake-like texture. For more, I baked mine a little longer to make sure it crispened and took on a more cookie-like texture. While they aren’t the BEST cookies I’ve had, they are certainly very fun to chew/crunch on and slightly addictive. Must be the gorgeous accent of vanilla!

Here’s my version, gluten free!

1/2 cup + 2 tbsp butter (non-dairy spread is fine)

1/2 cup caster sugar

1.5 cup gluten free flour blend

1/4 cup cornstarch

1/4 cup tapioca starch

1 tsp vanilla extract

1 large egg, room temp

1/2 cup buttermilk1/2 tsp baking powder

1) Preheat oven to 180 degrees, line 2 cookie sheets with parchment paper.

2) In a big bowl, cream the softened butter and sugar together until light and fluffy (2 mins).

3) Add in the egg and vanilla, mix quickly to blend. DO NOT be alarmed if it looks curdled.

4) Add in the flours and baking powder alternately with the buttermilk, starting and ending with the flour mix.

5) Drop tablespoonfuls on your cookie sheet. Mixture will be pretty runny and will spread in the oven.

6) Bake for 12-15 minutes or until golden brown and crisp at the edges.

7) Remove from oven and allow to cool on cookie sheet for 3 minutes before transferring to a wire rack to cool completely.

Icing:

2.25 cup icing sugar

2 tbsp hot water (plus more as needed)

1 tbsp corn syrup

1/2 tsp vanilla extract

1 ounce bittersweet chocolate, choppedand melted

2 tbsp unsweetened cocoa powder

drop of pink food coloring (optional)

1) In a large bowl, mix the icing sugar with the hot water, corn syrup and vanilla.

2) Once smooth, divide into 2, and add the melted chocolate and cocoa powder to one portion and mix until smooth (it helps to use a whisk to lightly mix).

3) Add the pink food coloring to the other potion if using.

4) Using a small offset spatula, spread the chocolate icing on one half of a COOLED cookie and allow to set before spreading the pink food coloring on the other side.

5) Allow to dry completely before placing it in an airtight container!

Leave a comment

Filed under Cookies, Recipes

Leave a Reply

