Walnut & Dark Chocolate Scones

One day I might get sick of Foster the People.

One day I will find the perfect chocolate cake recipe.

One day I’ll definitely have cereal for dinner.

One day I could get to see Orcas in real life.

One day I’m going to go shopping with wild abandonment.

One day I shall make my way to Vienna and Germany.

One day I hope to take my mom on a holiday.

Today though, I shall smell like walnut and dark chocolate scones, have lunch with some of my favourite people, then dinner with more favourite people, talk about everything over brownies, listen to more Foster the People, figure out how to do my hair and then change my mind all over again.

It’s really a lot easier focusing on all the things that keep you happy. Some days, the annoyingly optimistic kid in me reminds me that the best things about a crummy day is that it’ll eventually end. And when it does, you better be prepared to embrace the good stuff. There’s no waiting around for it to come back again; think about it…would you sit around while some random stranger comes and takes away the perfect dress?! Thought so.

Wait, is this me being smarter than usual?

I kid. The truth of the matter is, my dad came home for a surprise visit yesterday. My man bought me a cookbook just because. The cutest little boy loved the cake I baked so much that he gave me two thumbs up; twice, and wouldn’t share it with anyone else. My mom did a massive grocery shop up for me. My sister’s coming to dinner tonight. The other one’s thinking about us all the way in London.

It’s all love here!

Walnut and Dark Chocolate Scones [adapted from Gluten-free Gourmand]

1 3/4 cups GF flour blend
1/4 cup oat/sorghum flour
1 tbsp baking powder
1/4 tsp baking soda
Pinch of salt
1/4 cup sugar
90g cold unsalted butter, cubed
1 large egg
3/4 cup heavy cream
1 tsp vanilla extract
80g dark chocolate, chopped
50g walnuts, roughly chopped

1) Preheat oven to 210°C. Line a baking tray with greaseproof paper or Silpat mat.

2) Mix the flours, baking powder, baking soda and salt in a large bowl.

3) Whisk the cream, vanilla and egg together.

4) Cut the butter into the flour mix, either by hand, food processor or stand mixer until it resembles breadcrumbs.

5) Mix in the liquids until combined. Stir in the chocolate and walnuts.

6) Tip the scone batter onto the prepared tray and shape into a large rectangle, about 1.5 inches tall. Bake for 10 minutes. Remove from oven and gently cut into 9 pieces. Bake for a further 4-5 minutes. Remove from oven and allow to cool.

7 Comments

Filed under Breakfast, Chocolate, Nuts, Recipes

7 responses to “Walnut & Dark Chocolate Scones

  1. This sounds totally incredible – very impressive! :D

  2. Fabulous, Vicky! Love that you have just made them on a rectangular baking tray and cut them into squares. :-)

    Shirley

  3. I love how you’ve done these :) they sound delicious

  4. MMM,..Your gf scones look absolutely fabulous & tasty! :) Yum Yum Yum!

  5. Victoria ~ I know it’s been an age since I last wrote (Winter Skies, Kitchen Aglow) but am glad to find that you’re still at it – publishing your gluten-free goodies. I love the combination of walnut and dark chocolate, so I will give these scones a go. As tomorrow is a public holiday (ANZAC Day – for you, too, right?!), it is as good a day as any to do some baking. I’ve been thinking about reviving my tired little blog – I miss cooking/baking and sharing thoughts with fellow foodies. Take care.

  6. Hi Vic ~ Long time, no see! I’m so glad that you’re plugging away at making divine gluten-free sweets. It’s good to read your introductions, too – you really capture the moment in your writing style. Your photos are tremendous, and, dare I say, you have the most gorgeous plates!

    I am a sucker for walnuts and chocolate, so this scone recipe is intriguing me. As today is ANZAC Day (a public holiday), I may try to find some time to bake them…if not, well, soon – they look wickedly good.

    I’ve abandoned my little blog (Winter Skies, Kitchen Aglow) for a long time but am thinking of reviving it. I hope all is well with you and the b/f.

Leave a Reply

