Vegan Banana Cupcakes with Peanut Butter Frosting [The Elvis]

In the next 24 hours, the following things would’ve happened.

I’d be wearing leggings and a massive over-sized shirt, trying to get as comfy as I can on a plane. I’d have seen Narita Airport and eaten sushi in Japan. I’d have brushed my teeth in a tiny cubicle kazillion of feet in the air. I’d have hopefully finished indulging myself in the mindless drama of Gossip Girl. I’d have eaten vegan Elvis cupcakes. I’d finally get to meet my extended family in the States. New York, here I come!!!

Please understand that what’s fueling my 3-days-straight of 5.5hr sleep nights is pure adrenaline and a healthy dose of sugar. Hopefully this puts me to sleep like a baby tonight on the plane and no crying babies keep me awake. But I’m sure with the amount of excitement running through my veins, even that might be less annoying than it usually is. Am I even making coherent sentences?

Next time I blog I’ll be in an entirely different land, so please excuse me if the posts are few and far between. But I’ll try my best, and be sure there’ll be an update the moment I get my hands-a-typing again! Looks like 3 weeks til my next post, til then, you can head to the archives for a list of all the things to keep your sweet tooth at bay. Big love!

This is also my submission to the wonderful Go Ahead Honey, It’s Gluten Free round up. This month’s theme is Garden Tea Party, and I can’t wait to see what everyone else has come up with!

Vegan Elvis Cupcakes by Sweets by Vicky

2 cups GF flour blend
2 tsp baking soda
3/4 cup golden caster sugar
1/2 cup oil
4 large, ripe bananas
1 tbsp honey
1/3 cup soy/coconut milk
1 tsp vanilla
1 cup dark chocolate chips

1) Line a 12-capacity muffin tin with cupcakes liners. Preheat oven to 175°C.

2) In medium bowl, mash the bananas and mix in the honey, vanilla and milk.

3) In a large bowl, mix the flour, baking soda and sugar together. Make a well in the centre and add in the oil and banana mix. Mix well, mixture shouldn’t be too runny but not stiff either. If it’s stiff, add in 1-2 tbsp of soy/coconut milk.

4) Pour batter into prepared tins. Sprinkle the chocolate chips on the top. Bake for 20-25 minutes, or until a skewer inserted comes out clean.

Peanut Butter Frosting

1 cup creamy smooth peanut butter
2/3-1 cup unrefined icing sugar, sifted
1/2 cup dairy-free tablespread

1) In a bowl of a standmixer fitted with a paddle attachment, beat all the ingredients together until smooth. If it’s very stiff, add 2 tsp of water or milk and beat. Add more if needed.

10 Comments

Filed under Chocolate, Frostings, Fruit, Recipes

10 responses to “Vegan Banana Cupcakes with Peanut Butter Frosting [The Elvis]

  1. oh my have a blast in NY !! (u will be visiting the famous magnolia bakery wont u ??? )

    :O)

    these look fantasticby the way i do have some bananas that are looking like they are going to be ripened and i also just bought a new jar of peanut butter so this recipe is perfect!

  2. These are some gorgeous cupcakes, Vicki! Absolutely gorgeous. I can only imagine how yummy they are. You were perfectly coherent, dear. Hope you sleep well on the plane ride and have a fabulous time in NY!

    Hugs,
    Shirley

  3. Graet flavours and awesome name! Have a terrific trip!

  4. Yum! I love the peanut butter, banana, chocolate combo.

  5. These look so yummy! What GF Flour blend do you use? I am sorry if you have answered this somewhere, I looked around a bit and couldn’t find it anywhere.

  6. Have a terrific trip!!!

  7. love the banana + pb frosting combo! vegan cupcakes are my favorite! i shall bookmark this for the future :)

  8. These cupcakes are beautiful . My grandmother loved the peanut butter/banana combo and would make sandwiches with them. What a great combination for a cupcake.

  9. Making these tonight, cupcakes are amazing!! I can’t quite get my frosting just right, it’s too runny, but working on it.

  10. Pingback: Banana Muffin Cakes with Peanut Butter Frosting | The Feel Good Foodie

Leave a Reply

