Vegan Coconut Cupcakes

I caved. I let myself sink my teeth into warm cranberry scones slathered with mascarpone and apricot jam. And look what’s happened now- fuzzy head, my judgement’s all furry and not to mention the slightly ballooning tummy. Silly, silly and silly. What a good slap on the head to remind myself why I avoid it in the first place. Want proof? I knocked over a whole glass of water during dinner, shocking both the unsuspecting waitress and me, mid-chew.

My brain’s all over the place, my mind is as scattered as mad skittles falling to the ground. It’s like a crazy little hurricane building inside of me. I thought I might come online to rant but who’s really free to listen to someone else’s burden? You’ve probably got a pile of laundry that needs to be washed; the train never comes on time and everytime you’re late for work the boss always has something to say; the sandwich you paid good money for is cold and dry; the dress of your dreams never comes in your size; your new shoes are giving you blisters; you spilled wine down the front of your new shirt; your phone runs out of battery halfway through the day; the lady in front of you takes forever to decide what to order…you get the drift.

Let’s start a ‘Be Thankful Day’. I’m tired of listing all the rubbish we go through and feel each day. And listing all the things I want to do and achieve makes me feel mildly depressed. So I’ll write about the things I already have. You should grab a pen too, we’ll do it together alright?

1) I’m going to see Rachel Allen in less than a month.
2) My hair has finally almost grown past my shoulders… :)
3) Next week’s a 4 day work week!
4) A super sweet friend all the way in Melbourne sent me a notebook and a card just to put a smile on my face
5) I’m going to have coconut cupcakes for breakfast tomorrow and they’re gluten, egg, dairy and refined sugar free.

It’s not the biggest list, but it’s a start and I feel better already. Actually, I think I might have a cookie to cheer me up.

If your day looks like grey skies ahead, these cupcakes have a great fluffy texture and the aroma from the natural sweeteners and toasted coconut will take you somewhere else, away from crazy town. If you’re not dairy intolerant, a gorgeous swish of cream cheese would work like a charm.

April also marks the Springtime Brunches edition of Go Ahead Honey It’s Gluten Free! hosted by Maggie at She Let Me Eat Cake. It’s going to be a good one, I know it; Easter’s in the air and brunch is the perfect meal for having the best of both worlds (pancakes for lunch…SWEET!). You need to check out her round up.

Vegan Coconut Cupcakes (adapted from The Flying Apron Bakery Book), makes 33 cupcakes

4 cups brown rice flour (I only had white rice flour on hand)
1 cup sorghum flour
1 cup garbanzo bean flour
1 tbsp + 1 tsp baking soda
1 tsp sea salt
1 1/3 cups canola oil (seems like alot but the cupcakes are generously sized)
3 cups water
1 tsp apple cider
1 tbsp vanilla extract
2 cups palm sugar, (comes in a block; grate roughly and melt in a saucepan, measure)
1 cup agave syrup
3 cups shredded, toasted coconut

1) Preheat oven to 175°C. Line 33 muffin holes (if you don’t have that many, I suggest halving the recipe or putting the batter in the fridge while the rest bake).

2) In a large bowl, mix the flours, salt and baking soda together.

3) In another large bowl, whisk the syrup, palm sugar, water, vanilla extract and oil together. Add in the flour mix in 3 turns, whisking well after each addition. Add in the toasted coconut, mix well and divide evenly into the muffin holes. Bake for 20-25 minutes or until a skewer inserted comes out clean. Let stand for 10 minutes and remove from tin to cool completely.

To Finish:

Grate another 100g of palm sugar and melt with 2 tbsp of water. Use that as a glaze to allow mounds of shredded, toasted coconut to stick.Add a drizzle of dark chocolate for a cupcake akin to a bounty chocolate bar. :)

9 Comments

Filed under Books, Breakfast, Cupcakes, Fruit

9 responses to “Vegan Coconut Cupcakes

  1. I’m going on a business trip next week and spending the night in a spa with a pool–I’m thankful for that :) And for seeing pictures of delicious-looking coconut cupcakes!

  2. Great post, Vicky. Love the photo with the heart in the coconut flakes! I can empathize with those feelings of not being able to resist dairy or sugar and then feeling crazy afterwards and asking myself Why? I’m thankful that with every day, our trees are leafing out more and soon we’ll be back in our “treehouse” and soon we won’t be able to see most the neighbors. It’s not that I dislike all our neighbors. It’s just that it’s so gorgeous and lush, and like being hidden in a magical forest when the trees are completely filled out. :-)

    Shirley

  3. I think #5 would be enough to keep me awake all night, like waiting for Santa to come.

  4. mm yummy

    i am thankful for

    1) my family & friends
    2) my workmates, makes life alot easier when you’re working with great people
    3) skins (my compression tights i love em)
    4) long weekend coming up woohoo! high five :O)

  5. These sound sooo yummy! I’m thankful for wonderful recipes like this one and great bloggers who share gluten and dairy free love!

  6. Oh I am so coming over to have one of these cupcakes. For BREAKFAST! I love it. They would look so sweet and innocent on a brunch table. I don’t get the furry head thing happening, isn’t it funny how our symptoms are vastly different? It amazes me. Thanks so much for linking up to this month’s Go Ahead Honey. I love that I’ve found a new blog to love.

  7. Pingback: Go Ahead Honey, It’s Gluten-Free Brunch

  8. Pingback: Vegan Coconut Cupcakes…. « Rollin' Oats Market and Cafe

  9. Yves

    Hi Vicky, Just discovered your blog. A really nice blog you have. I have a young daughter who is allergic to wheat, eggs, dairy, nuts, etc. I’ve been baking for years but I fail when trying to bake bread or cakes for her. Your pictures for the vegan coconut cupcake looks so good, I am tempted to try again, until I look at the list of ingredients. I have no idea where to buy them. Can you kindly share? Egave syrup, different type of flours, etc.

Leave a Reply

