Sunday Morning Pancakes

A conversation topic has been floating around our household lately. My sister and dad have been deciding what they would like to abstain from, for Lent. If I’m not wrong, it starts from Ash Wednesday and ends on Good Friday. In this year’s case, the last day of Lent would be 2 April. So dad’s now the anti-betting-on-football king and my sister has decided to temporarily break-up with the TV. Well as for me, while I may not be Catholic, I’m ready to join in, just to do something different for a change to to feel committed to a cause. And what am I avoiding? DAIRY!

I am technically dairy intolerant but I haven’t had much reaction to it in ages. Yet it does cause the occasional uneasiness in my body, and aggravates my eczema so I can’t see a better time to try abstaining from dairy for awhile. Luckily dark chocolate is dairy-free.

And here’s a funny story about how my mom found out I was dairy intolerant. Apparently when I was a baby, after I passed the breastfeeding stage, she would feed me milk from a bottle. Unfortunately for her, whenever she did, the milk would end up 2m from where she was standing. I imagine it must’ve been quite a funny sight…no? Like a milk fountain.And unfortunately for me, she never told me this whenever I used to eat carbonara which always made me feel sick. Gluten-FULL pasta + cream-based sauce = toilet hugging.

Okay I’ll stop being gross. In the spirit of being dairy-free, I made some dairy-free pancakes for Sunday morning breakfast!

The pancakes are fluffy, and border on being a little too dry. My advice is to add 1-2 tablespoons of milk (as I will highlight in RED) and be generous with your maple syrup (you’ll thank me for this!)

Sunday Pancakes (makes 8)

1 cup – 2 tbsp GF flour blend
2 tbsp buckwheat flour
2 tbsp brown sugar
2 tsp baking powder
1/2 tsp baking soda
1/2 cup almond milk
2 tbsp oil (Suggestion: 2 tbsp more!)
1 large egg, seperated
1 tsp vanilla extract
olive oil spray for frying

1) In a mixing bowl, sift together the flours, baking powder and baking soda.
2) Gradually whisk in the egg yolk, milk, oil and vanilla until very smooth. Let stand for 5 minutes
3) In a large mixing bowl, whisk the egg whites until stiff but not dry peaks form. Carefully fold into the pancake batter.
4) In a large nonstick pan, over a medum high heat, spray a light coating of olive oil spray. Pour one ice-cream scoop (1/4 cup) of batter onto the pan. When bubbles start showing up on the surface, flip it over into it’s belly and fry for another 2 minutes or until brown.
5) EAT with REAL maple syrup. THE ADDITION OF BACON IS ADVISABLE.

15 Comments

Filed under Breakfast, Recipes

15 responses to “Sunday Morning Pancakes

  1. These look so great! There is nothing better than Sunday mornings and pancakes :)

  2. meimei

    SO YOU’RE NOT EATING ICECREAM?!??!! *faints*

  3. More maple syrup is always a good thing. Those pancakes look beyond delicious!

  4. I think you’ve stumbled upon the key to life and happiness: “be generous with your maple syrup” :P These look great! :D

  5. I enjoy your milk fountain part of the story :-) You are a good story teller, you know that? I enjoyed reading your post…

    Well, for this pancake I would definitely add extra maple syrup, I mean who could resist having it more right?

    Stay fit and take good care of yourself, Vicky!

    Sawadee from bangkok,
    Kris

  6. Oooh, totally worth waking up for!!!!

  7. Love the first picture with the drizzling maple syrup! I can hear a voice at the back of my mind saying, “more, more, more!!” and omg at your milk fountain and toilet hugging story, that’s quite a disturbing mental picture if you put the two together, hahaha. Hope lent goes well for you!

  8. Perfect start to a happy day. And bacon? Of course!

  9. Vicky, I’m sorry you have so much trouble with dairy…I have a problem if I eat it early evening but it doesn’t seem to bother me if I have it at lunch. So no point in giving that up for lent. I am giving up chocolate! Hope I make it.
    Anyway, your pancakes look great and the more maple syrup the better!

  10. Your pancake is so fluffy and delicious looking Vicky. I like buckwheat flour in it too.

  11. Those pancakes look super delicious and fluffy! I use almond milk for all of my cooking actually. Including carbonara and cream sauces! I think it actually makes them taste better (creamier) than regular milk.

  12. lo

    Wow — those pancakes definitely LOOK delicious. And a bit of extra maple syrup never hurt anyone. :)

  13. i never really understood the whole bacon with sweet pancakes combo – i guess i should really try it out. but bacon or no bacon, these pancakes look delicious!

  14. mei

    im just dropping by your blog.. your blog looks good :) very delicious. PAncake is not my favourite breakfast, but whenever I have pancake, maple syrup + butter is a must for me!! YUm YUm… Nice picture there :)

  15. Pancake looks cool n delicious,, i like pancakes with maple syrup its yummy for breakfasts,,,, you got a nice blog.Take Care and Keep Smiling.

Leave a Reply

