Chocolate With Sprinkles on the Top

Some things in life are especially difficult. Things like finding the perfect dress for a date, deciding which job to take, telling your friend that the dress makes her look rotund and finding the perfect,satisfying, not too sweet, not too un-decadent chocolate cupcake. Luckily, I think I’ve got the cake part sorted and I’ll gladly share it with you.

This chocolate cupcake was something I prepared for New Year’s Eve at home. I didn’t want anything remotely healthy but yet didn’t feel like the New Year should begin with an over the top indulgence just yet. The cake itself it soft, deep in flavour but really, it is the best vessel to carry the deliciously bittersweet, fudgey chocolate frosting which is then topped happily with sprinkles. I often have problems with GF  chocolate cupcakes being too hard, dense, flavourless…but this is quite the showstopper. Well, that’s what my sister and I think anyway.

Sweets By Vicky’s Chocolate Cupcake, inspired by Lisa Yockelson’s Feb 27th Birthday Cake

1.5 cups GF flour blend (I like to make my own)
1/2 tsp baking soda
1/8 tsp baking powder
6 tbsp veg oil (canola is fine)
2/3 cup caster sugar
1.5 eggs (sorry! the cake was scaled for a small batch)
2 oz bittersweet couverture chocolate (at least 70%), melted and cooled
1 tsp vanilla extract
1/2 cup + 1/6 cup ice-cold water, plus 1 tbsp.

1) Preheat oven to 180 degrees, fanforced. Line 10 cupcake tins with papers.
2) Sift the flour, baking powder and baking soda together in a big bowl
3) In the mixing bowl of a KitchenAid, with the whisk attachment, beat the eggs and the sugar until thick and fluffy (not quite ribbon stage)
4) Add in the oil and vanilla extract and continue to beat.
5) Add in the melted chocolate and continue whisking.
6) Add in the flour mix and the icecold water alternately, starting and ending with the flour mix. Whisk for 2-3 minutes.
7) Divide batter into cupcake tins and bake for 25-30 minutes or until skewer inserted comes out clean.

READ: Every oven differs in baking time. Mine is a pretty old oven and while I should get an oven thermometer, I haven’t! So, please keep an eye out for your cupcakes!

6 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

6 responses to “Chocolate With Sprinkles on the Top

  1. Hehe so true! It would be so hard to tell a friend especially if they can’t change out of that dress. What adorable cupcakes! :D

  2. That looks delicious! I have to ask, though, how do you halve an egg?

  3. Oh my…I love chocolate and that looks so yummy! (especially since I am dieting…ugh). Good thing I can’t come through the computer or it would be gone!

    Thanks for stopping by my place. How did the Ikea shopping go? I love that place…great prices too!

  4. Y

    Cute cupcake and even cuter panda :)

  5. Del

    May I know what is GF flour blend?

    • vicvickvicky

      Hi there,

      GF flour blend is a gluten free flour blend that I use in mot of my baked goods. You can buy some brands readily at many supermarkets! :)

Leave a Reply

